Secret battle mage challenge: Back to basics

in Splinterlands4 months ago

Greetings summoners! Today's secret battle mage challenge back to basics will put even the most season players in test as all monsters in this ruleset loss their abilities. I love playing most ruleset with my monsters having their abilities with them but for this ruleset all monster will have to go on the arena neutral this gives all players equal opportunities to compete against each other.

Battle hint

  1. Magic, range monster will still have their magic and range effect as well as melee monsters in battle.

  2. Monsters with sneak, opportunity, magic reflection and healing, armour repair will not have effect in this ruleset.

  3. Good tanks are plus one for winning strategy.

  4. Summoners still have effect and are not affected in this ruleset.

Back to basics is one of the ruleset I find quite competitive as most players will need to depend on raw strategies and skill of their lineup monster.

Screenshot_20240113-192724_Canva.jpg

For this ruleset I use water element monster to come up against my opponent in the arena with their water element monster my opponent here seem quite more ready as I was defeated this time below is the battle link for this ruleset.

Battle link

3RTd4iuWD6NUeJEn5AVrJUoyatFqBqfcCJi1N7UixR4g2KPKN7w8NpZL7qrJ4ETeGdj5C8fSCmkKo53HdMXBt4iktXYWqxP5g23z9xRNCtQB7Sk4W2YVgXHRqFxfYEFPH9GS99CF5vHXXbptXT9EBmKVkjEBHyhknY4XqYVcvtxnwp (1).png

Battle ruleset

26uUsAjKTsXCDw7zixZR182JbFKvgzJ9YwsFpTVcRaGCmsqhA1unTgprEeEZ5zUEEXtXisitCc8YCsH2AuwhxazqHvZjy4J2AbBxgzJ7mZytobfqLEk3hY3uiaqpve25734q5niorvXmLSuUY2rfVoHkekAtvREwGroAea.png

Back to basics remove all monsters abilities this ruleset is quite straightforward but sometimes summoners can forget to come up to the arena with health, sneak or opportunity monster which ends having no effect in the battle although if magic monster with healing ability is added in this ruleset only the magic attack will be effective while the healing ability will be of no use, a player can choose to add sneak or opportunity monster as tank which makes them effective only in frontline position.

Therefore it is always very important to check out ruleset of any battle before choosing lineup come up monster.

3RTd4iuWD6NUeJEn5AVrJUoyatFqBqfcCJi1N7UixR4g2KPKN7w8NpZL7qrJ4ETeGdj5C8fSCmkKo4t9BSDFs6syHDJ1AarAapuATfrZapTFJnf2XXoBamuSqMUTA2qsTRSD6B5uWudpaSRoRuaYmWeHtCdSAjC8jenDZ36rQjxwGJ (1).png

Battle detail

Screenshot_20240113-181407_Chrome.jpg

For this battle ruleset 31 mana cost cap was given for each player to come up with their line up monster it's a battle of water against water I couldn't stand my opponent this time although both team came up with good lineup monster for the battle.

cyxkEVqiiLy4DPBjkBUpHLa5BveiwwCF68r6dwnuwyJ83irrm9vifuZPPsZ9rHCspcaYAFAiH1YKWVBfu9Uex3fnxYLhEmBVAvuE3vXLDQeR6kBVMErzTMadvxnaymfwFRo.gif

Battle lineup

Screenshot_20240113-183716_Chrome.jpg

DIEMONSHARK my first lineup monster use to be a stampede trampling ability monster which can attack another monster when it eliminates its first target but for this ruleset none of that ability will matter only speed and attacking power will be used by monster this monster can only attack from frontline position with it good speed and armour plus attacking power it is suitable for tank in this ruleset.

Screenshot_20240113-184119_Chrome.jpg

DJINN OSHANNUS Next monster on my lineup is a magic attacker a void legendary monster due to this ruleset effect it can only use it magic ability it has good speed as well as suitable to be a good tank.

Screenshot_20240113-184343_Chrome.jpg

RIVER NYMPH Well for this ruleset only magic or range attacking monsters are best suited for attacking an opponent as melee monsters can only attack from frontline position RIVER NYMPH is a magic attacking monster.

Screenshot_20240113-184550_Chrome.jpg

ANASTH SOOTHSAYER here another magic monster from rebellion edition pack it has good health although it speed is low average for battle.

Screenshot_20240113-184802_Chrome.jpg

HARDY STONEFISH My backline monster a melee attacking monster for this ruleset it has little to no effect unless it's in front position with it one life health it can barely stand against any magic attacking monster.

3RTd4iuWD6NUeJEn5AVrJUoyatFqBqfcCJi1N7UixR4g2KPKN7w8NpZL7qrJ4ETeGdj5C8fSCmkKo53HdMXBt4iktXYWqxP5g23z9xRNCtQB7Sk4W2YVgXHRqFxfYEFPH9GS99CF5vHXXbptXT9EBmKVkjEBHyhknY4XqYVcvtxnwp (1).png

My strategy

My strategy for this ruleset is to come up with less of melee monster and more of magic attacking monsters since a melee tank can always attack from frontline position I used DIEMONSHARK as my tank because of it good speed and attacking power I choose DJINN OSHANNUS to support my tank since it could attack from any position along side having a good health to sustain several attacks from my opponent I added more two magic monsters so I can cause quick magic effect on my opponent.

For this ruleset turns out my strategy did not work out my opponent was as well prepared as they came up with both magic, melee and range monster the battle was concluded with my opponent emerging victorious.

cyxkEVqiiLy4DPBjkBUpHLa5BveiwwCF68r6dwnuwyJ83irrm9vifuZPPsZ9rHCspcaYAFAiH1YKWVBfu9Uex3fnxYLhEmBVAvuE3vXLDQeR6kBVMErzTMadvxnaymfwFRo.gif

Battle arena

Screenshot_20240113-181347_Chrome.jpg

The battle lasted seven rounds it was a battle of five against six I guess it was a game of number my strategy failed because my lineup wasn't well arranged my opponent came up with three magic attackers with a range and melee monster while I did came up with three magic monsters with melee.

Screenshot_20240113-190746_Gallery.jpg

Round 1 the battle line is drawn its five against six in first round no monster was eliminated from both side although both side monster sustained damages.

Screenshot_20240113-190954_Gallery.jpg

Round 2 my opponent tank got eliminated at round two that's quite interesting I felt some sign of victory but we can't decide the battle this early.

Screenshot_20240113-191144_Gallery.jpg

Round 3 my tank is as well out of the battle that leaves is even but four against five not looking so good though.

Screenshot_20240113-191322_Gallery.jpg

Round 4 another tank eliminated from my lineup as well as thats of my opponent three against four seems the battle can be decided at this stage it's not looking too good for me.

Screenshot_20240113-191527_Gallery.jpg

Round 5 it's now two against three my opponent still have two magic monsters with a good range monster while I'm only left with a single magic monster.

Screenshot_20240113-191651_Gallery.jpg

Round 6,7 well my last monster standing a magic monster can't stand that of my opponent the battle is decided no chance for me here.

Battle link

Join splinterland play and earn rewards while having fun with you monster collection, let's meet the battle arena setup an account for free here enjoy amazing features of blockchain gaming.

All Images used for this post are from Splinterlands website and community with some editing from Canva

3RTd4iuWD6NUeJEn5AVrJUoyatFqBqfcCJi1N7UixR4g2KPKN7w8NpZL7qrJ4ETeGdj5C8fSCmkKo5DjrHr5ohicsPyafqWykbEf2DJMmZXRj6KPc8h1i3nkDcZ2Pkr3GYbpXLiL6DE2GcroJQkcPDPQr5xvr24NSvxiNPEkTCWvKg (2).png