Splinterlands - What I've Learned So Far

in Splinterlands2 years ago

I'm nearing 3 weeks of playing Splinterlands and halfway through my 2nd season. Next season brings some big changes to the game. More of that in another post. But today I bring you an update on my gameplay and tactics so far.

My current ranking is 82922 and I'm firmly in the Bronze league II, bordering on the Bronze league I, depending on my current winning or losing streak! My win ratio is just positive at 50,5% but really needs a big boost here. @engilhramn is really nailing it with the focus chests and end of season chests and I need to up my game.

Next I have started to build my first deck. Here I have focused on the Earth Splinter that is green. You can see that I've marked the "Tank" cards below.

It's important to have a good tank. The card "Grund" that I have rented, I like because he has high lift and can attack twice in 1 round. It is only a shame that he has no shield.

The other thing I have found important is to have some good low value cards with skills for those low mana games. Here I have Khmer Princess, Fungus Fiend and Acid Shooter.

Levelling Up

I was also struggling to earn any RP and chests last season and was advised to level up. Therefore I rented Mylor Crowling and it is costing me 19.69 DEC per day which seems very pricey. Im checking the price now and it is available for 12 DEC now. Somehow Im paying quite abit for card rentals!

This is a good all round Summoner that I usually combine with a strong tank and ranged card. This now boosts my RP earned to a decent level each win and I am getting more chests.

In-game Pointers

What has also helped to improve my game is to take notice of the "rules of combat". This seems to change for each game such as no magic or only melee attack and paying attention to this can help your strategy and improve the win ratio.

The 2nd thing I was paying attention to is the "Active Elements". Here some elements arent available each game and so I cant always play my only Earth splinter deck. This usually means I will lose and get less rewards as I dont own or rent the cards.

Rating/Power

So I figured out that when you are winning games, you get something called ratings points and you can progress up the leagues when you win and get more.

However, you cannot progress up the league like you can see above because I dont have strong enough cards or enough "power" to progress to that league. Therefore I need to buy or rent some more cards to increase my power.

DEC Energy Capture Rate
In order not to waste energy, it is important to use it up in plenty of time. I currently have usually time in the evening for Splinterlands but not always in the morning. Usually the energy recovers quite fast and therefore I have found you usually need to play twice per day.

It therefore makes sense for me to run my Energy Capture Rate to at least 85% each time so that if I dont get a chance to play in the morning, i am not allowing my energy to sit idle at 100%.

Summary
It's a long and slow process to try and learn the game and with no experience of these card games it is a bit of a disadvantage.

However, there is a great community of players who have given me some great tips and it has been lots of fun learning and trying to get on top of the game.

What things are important for you in Splinterlands?

Resources:
Title image created in canva using image source

ce3.png

Let's connect:

Twitter: mypathtofire1
Noise.cash: mypathtofire
Discord: mypathtofire#6998

ce3.png

Join my team:

Sort:  

Nice to see your progress in the game! If you get close to the next level in terms of rating but lack power... you might tell me and I could help you along ;-)

Thanks, I am struggling daily to keep enough power to stay in Bronze I. That would be great if you can! Do you recommend certain cards for keeping your power up?
!CTP

I delegated to you 3 GF untamed cards of the green splinter. They are not very useful in the game but they give you a total of 2K CP. That should help you to stay in Bronze 1 without needing to rent additional cards.

Thanks Achim! That has given my power a nice boost! Cheers. !CTP


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @mypathtofire ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Good to see everything is coming together! 50.5% winrate is already decent. I'm around 56%, see it's not a big difference.
Next step will be to pay attention to your daily focus and play accordingly (yeah, that means leaving Earth), so you can grab a few daily chests.
!ALIVE

Thanks!!
Yes im wondering what tactic I should you to bag those focus chests... can i rent the focus daily? (is the focus the same for everyone?) would the costs be more prohibitive if we all rent the same focus! lol

!ALIVE
!CTP

Nah, every one has a different daily focus, and you can reroll it if you want.
The thing is: any win counts for the EoS chests, but only wins with the daily focus count for the daily chests

thanks, I need to re-focus as i dont have any daily focus chests yet. this isnt so great!

@engilhramn! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @mypathtofire. (2/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

@mypathtofire! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @engilhramn. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

The fun part starts in the silver league! I'm waiting for you there!
!PGM
!CTP
!ALIVE

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 15 SBT tokens to @mypathtofire

remaining commands 2

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-2.5 BUDS-0.01 MOTA-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


Thanks man! Im on my way! lol

!PGM
!ALIVE
!CTP

@stdd! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @mypathtofire. (3/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

@mypathtofire! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @stdd. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Hey man, seems like you are doing great! In my opinion, 19 DEC/day ain't that much a gold foil Mylor if you compare it to normal Obsidian for example. Plus it brings that CP.

It's true that the prices of summoner fluctuate a lot and that's why I just rent them for day hoping to get the best price!
!CTP

Thanks for the tip! I hope that I earn enough DEC to cover the costs. So far 20+ chests so Im much happier!

You are welcome! Have you thought about buying a few cards that don't cost a lot but rent out at a good price?
Then you would be covering the rent in costs and maybe make some profit by doing so.

Yes, this is my goal. Do you have any suggestions?

It's kinda tricky, but I'd check the prices of some Untamed monsters, they are not that expensive(yet), and rent out pretty good. Goblin Thief is $0.81 and I rent it out at the price of 5.6 DEC/day. Goblin Chariot is $1.45 and I'm renting it out for 6.5DEC/day. Not guaranteed though that they'll go out with these prices every day. Thief is out now but Chariot is not.

Thanks for the starter tips!

You are welcome!

I got them and listed my low hanging fruit cards too. Lets see if this brings any DEC in! 😆

Great! I'm sure they will and besides that, they are good investments!

Great job mate thanks for sharing on Listnerds
@mypathtofire
Have a wonderful day 😎
😉
!ALIVE
!BBH
!MEME

Thanks Ben! !CTP !ALIVE !PIZZA

@benthomaswwd! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @mypathtofire. (4/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.


Credit: arthursiq5
Earn Crypto for your Memes @ hiveme.me!

@mypathtofire! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @benthomaswwd. (5/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Because this is such an awesome post, here is a BBH Tip for you. . Keep up the fantastic work

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
mypathtofire tipped benthomaswwd (x1)
@rzc24-nftbbg(2/5) tipped @mypathtofire (x2)
mypathtofire tipped rzc24-nftbbg (x2)

Join us in Discord!

Just curious to know. Are you participating in the weekly challenges?

!PGM

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 15 SBT tokens to @mypathtofire

remaining commands 0

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-2.5 BUDS-0.01 MOTA-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


Is that the weekly battle challenge? I planned to do a post about that next. !PIZZA

You can submit two posts per week. One for Share Your Weekly Battle Challenge and another for Social Media Challenge. An article like this that you made can earn between 20 to 30 USD. Of course, ultimately, the weekly reward depends on how the curation team will evaluate your post.

!PIZZA

!CTP

Ah cool, I did one for the social media challenge but no battle challenge yet. Thanks for the heads up! :)

!PIZZA !CTP

My pleasure.

!PIZZA

!CTP

Do you have maybe an idea about how much time total in week do you currently spend on Splinterlands?

Voted on ListNerds!

Great to see your progress.

You should also consider joining a Guild.
It gives a additional DEC earning boost. Plus, it will enable you to obtain Gladius cards too. :)

!CTP

Thanks for the advice. That sounds pretty cool. I will look into it. !CTP

Are you looking for a guild? The @acolytesofhelio would be happy about a player who also is a content creator on hive. Let us know! Hop on our discord!
!PGM

Thanks, I will have a look. !PGM

Great we would be happy with new blood :)

Thanks, I will check out the discord 🙂

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 15 SBT tokens to @mypathtofire

remaining commands 2

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-2.5 BUDS-0.01 MOTA-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


Good work. Nice documentation. Sharing this on https://twitter.com/PraetoriaDigest.

Thanks! Appreciate the support. !ALIVE

@globalwarming! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @mypathtofire. (12/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Congratulations @mypathtofire! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 7000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 7250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the June PUM Winners
Feedback from the July 1st Hive Power Up Day

Thank you HiveBuzz! 🚀😎

You're welcome @mypathtofire! Have a nice weekend 😊👍

Furious Chicken is a great one to have as an extra on low mana battles Steve!
Got this on LN tonight!

Thanks Ed, I bought that one! Good choice! Thanks for dropping by via ListNerds! !ALIVE !CTP

@tengolotodo! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @mypathtofire. (14/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.