Battle Mage Secrets: Heavy Hitters

in Splinterlands10 months ago

The Battle Challenge Ruleset this week is Heavy Hitters in which all units gain the Knock Out ability. When a monster is hit by a unit with the Stun ability, it has a 50% chance of being stunned causing it to skip its next turn. Monsters with the Knock Out ability do double damage to monsters that are stunned.

The Stun ability by itself is useful and powerful . The potential of being able to do double damage is an added benefit. So in a Heavy Hitters Ruleset, it is usually worth it to use monsters with Stun. Outside of this Ruleset, I find that using individual monsters with the Knock Out ability is not worth it because so much luck is involved.

The battle I chose to showcase is a 28 mana battle with the Little League and Heavy Hitters Rulesets.

Here is a link to the battle:

https://splinterlands.com?p=battle&id=sl_f178108d97a680e8a8fbcae2b5edb852&ref=ninjamike

In the Little League Ruleset, only cards that are 4 mana or less may be used. There are only a few cards in the game with the Stun ability that are 4 or less mana. The available splinters for this match were Fire, Earth, Life, and Death. I needed to choose either Earth or Death in order to play a monster with Stun. I chose the Death Splinter which enabled me to play the Revealer Stun monster.

I could not choose a Legendary Summoner because the 4 mana limit also applies to summoners. So I chose the commonly used Rare summoner Thaddius Brood which reduces opponents Magic attack and health by one.

For my lineup, I went with a neutral 4 mana Melee tank. In the backfield, I placed four Magic monsters including Revealer with Stun ability. I finished off my lineup with a Ranged monster that provides Armor in last position.

Start of Battle / Round 1

My opponent chose the Earth splinter but interestingly did not use a Stun monster. They played several Magic attack cards and used the Obsidian summoner which adds one to Magic attacks. Luckily my summoner reduces Magic attacks by one.

Round 2

In the first round, my Stun monster was the first of my Magic monsters to attack and it successfully stunned my opponents tank. My next two Magic monsters did double damage when they attacked which eliminated my opponents tank. At the end of the first round, my tank is down to just one health.

Round 3

In the second round, I defeated another one of my opponent’s monsters without any stuns or knock outs. But I lost my tank and my monster in first position is down to one health.

Round 4

During the third round, I eliminated a couple more of my opponent’s monsters and they are now down to two while I still have four remaining. Things are looking good for me.

With my first attack in the fifth round, I was able to declare victory.

Overall my strategy for this match worked. Using a Stun monster and landing a stun in the first round played a major role in the match. It allowed me to defeat my opponents tank before it could be healed with Tank Heal. This was a major factor in the battle because most of the time if you can defeat your opponents tank before they defeat yours, you will win.

The Heavy Hitters Ruleset is dependent on working Stun monsters into your lineup which at times can be difficult or restrictive. Of course if neither player uses a monster with Stun, it is just like a normal match. There are a limited number of monsters in the game that provide the Stun ability and some of these require being leveled up to a certain level before they obtain the Stun ability. But overall it is usually worth integrating a Stun monster or monsters into your lineup when every monster is capable of a Knock Out.

Keep Battling

Sort:  

You beat him only using cards from the new edition, congratulations! I hate the little league rule, you don't have good low mana cards ='(

I've always loved the Little League ruleset regardless of card edition. Thanks for commenting!

Thanks for sharing! - @yonilkar

Congratulations @ninjamike! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 14000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Feedback from the October Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - September 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the October edition of the Hive Power Up Month!