Wanted: Non-Botting Bronze and Silver Wild Players

in Splinterlands28 days ago

We've just seen a very ambitious proposal by @yabapmatt.sps in response to our community's repeated calls for action against the out-of control bot situation in wild.

https://peakd.com/spsproposal/@yabapmatt.sps/sps-governance-proposal-alternate-solution-to-address-bot-farms-and-wildmodern-format-discrepancies#@oaaguy/re-yabapmattsps-sdx1qz

I applaud that Matt is ready to tackle the issue.
I think this solution WILL WORK to remove the hordes of microbots.

But what I think is being overestimated is that bronze and silver players are (unintentionally) being targeted and reaped with the bot farms.

I think that we need to give a voice to these players. I think we have many committed, non-extractive players at lower investment levels.

Remember the Lesson We Learned from Modern:

We need players of all levels for a proper ranked ladder.

I just think every real player that quits feeling there is no longer a place for them here, is yet another player that we need to replace.

Every real player here - even the "so-called little guys" - together, we add up to a quality ranked ladder.

So I want to hear from every real player with a mostly bronze/silver deck that plays in wild manually.

Bronze and Silver Players: I want your stories!

Answer these questions below. Be respectful but honest.

ABOUT YOU

  • What is your in game name?
  • When did you join?
  • Why did you join? Did someone influence you? Which community members you admire?

ABOUT YOUR ASSETS

  • What league did you play before, and how high do you climb now?
  • What do you usually do with your SPS? What is your multiplier now? Do you own or rent SPS and how much?
  • Do you own or rent cards? Which ones? What do you want next?

ABOUT YOUR CONCERNS

  • What is a typical season rewards for you?
  • How do you like the Glint shop updates? Anything you'd like to see?
  • How do you expect the new season fee to affect you?
  • Any other comments?
Sort:  
Loading...

IGN: torran

Joined: August 2021

Why I Joined: I was hunting for airdrop opportunities and the game looked fun.

Previous League: I started out as a Bronze player and due to Untamed's exorbitant card prices, I wasn't keen on going any higher, however, there were some nerfs to rewards that forced me to reconsider (the removal of starter cards and the under leveled card penalty to name a couple). I ended up building my collection for max Silver and that's where I stayed, playing in Modern, up until the leagues were removed. My highest season finish was second place with about a 70-75% win rate.

Current League: With the removal of leagues and card level caps, Modern became flooded with max level decks throughout all levels of rating. My win rate dropped to around 35-40% so I made the switch to Wild. In Wild, I usually end up at the very bottom of Champ with a win rate of around 52-55%. Some might say this is due to skill and that I belong there, but I think it has a lot more to do with Diamond becoming the new Bronze because I'm still facing a lot of Bronze/Silver opponents. I haven't leveled my collection past max Silver and don't plan to level any higher due to the associated costs with leveling. My initial budget was Bronze and I've since splurged for Silver, so that's where I plan to stay.

SPS Earnings: When I was playing in Silver, I had enough SPS staked for a multiplier of around 11x. I didn't really need to stake more, but that's still where most of it went (and remains). When I did swap SPS, it was mostly for DEC so I could buy more cards to improve my collection. Now that I'm touching the bottom of Champ, my multiplier has dropped to around 4.5-5x. I don't usually rent SPS, although I did try it out recently. Renting cost me around 6000 DEC to rent enough SPS to get my multiplier up to around 7.5-8x. That only earned me around 1-1.5 more SPS/win so I'm not for certain if I'll continue to rent. I'm really not a fan of recurring costs. The whole reason I started the game by purchasing cards instead of renting, was because I don't like constantly having to pay and the hassle of keeping up with rentals/rental prices. Also, I bought 5000 SPS when the token was first introduced and I currently have around 40k SPS staked.

Collection: My collection has changed quite a bit. I own a max Bronze set of Beta RF Commons and Rares with a few RF Epics. I own a max Bronze set of Untamed GF Commons and RF Rares and a mixed batch of 1 BCX/Max Silver RF Epics. I started out CL with a full set of RF. I even started working on getting CL to max Gold, but ended up flipping everything into a max Silver GF set. Most of my Legendaries are RF, but I do have a few GF. My Riftwatchers set is max Silver GF Commons and Rares with mostly RF Epics save maybe 1 or 2 GF. My Legendaries are a mix of BCX 1/Max Silver RF. For Rebellion, I have a full set of max Silver GF Commons and Rares (minus I think 2 Rares that I only have at BCX 1), a mixed set of max Bronze/Silver Epics and a mixed set of max Bronze/Silver Legendaries. I have plenty of reward cards (some Beta, some Untamed, all of CL) at either max Silver GF or maxed entirely in RF. Soulbound rewards are another story. I've also bought into every Promo since I joined for a max Silver GF (Rares and below) or RF (Legendaries).

What I Want Next: I want to finish leveling the rest of Rebellion and also try and get the rest of the Gladius and Soulbound Reward cards I need for max Silver. After that, I'd like to work on getting/leveling some more Untamed or Betas.

Typical Season Rewards: Honestly... I don't even know anymore. There's been so many changes in such a short period of time that I can't even keep track. The switch to the new rewards system definitely hurt though. I have some Glint saved up but I'm afraid to really spend it because everything keeps changing.

Glint Shop: I'm still not sure how I like the Glint shop. I've bought a couple batches of rewards, but I wasn't real impressed with what I got. It feels like a lot of work for not a lot of rewards. It could be that I'm just tired of the current batch of Reward cards. The whole Soulbound aspect of them probably has a lot to do with it too. I miss the days of being able to flip my Reward cards for other cards I needed.

What I'd Like to See: I think it'd be nice to have 2-3 specific cards, with purchase limits, available in the store every season. With cards being Soulbound, it's really hard to get exactly what you want/need. Having a few featured cards every season might make things a bit easier.

The New Season Fee: This is a tough one. As I said before, I hate recurring fees. I'm also a bit leary about how it's going to affect my earnings. I'm not exactly sure how much SPS I'm earning per season, but if I had to guess, it's around 160-180 SPS. At current prices, 2000 DEC/season is roughly 144 SPS. On top of that, doubling the staked SPS requirements is going to drop my multiplier even lower, so I'm not sure how that's going to play out. IF the fee leads to a decrease in the number of accts playing in Wild, the SPS per battle should go up, but I'm not entirely sold that we're going to see the massive drop-off in accts that people are expecting.

Other Comments: I'm still waiting/hoping on another tournament entry requirement overhaul. The entire reason I switched my collection to GF was for GF tournaments, and I find it rather frustrating that with as extensive as my GF collection is, I don't qualify for most of them anymore. Requiring 1400000+ CP for a Bronze tournament is ridiculous.

Loading...

I like to hear the stories too

Thanks for promoting this! I hope we will hear from lots of players and give voice to many!

you are welcome, that's my role

Thanks for you questions.

ABOUT YOU
It's all in my blog, back from 2019.

ABOUT YOUR ASSETS
What league did you play before, and how high do you climb now?
In Wild, I've climbed up to Gold III and try to stay in Silver most of the time. For as long as there is Modern, I hope to reach silver with the soulbound reward summoners. When soulbound unlocks, I'll trade some more of them now that the rewards have gone down.

I don't know to answer all the other petty questions. Here is more from me in this discussion
https://ecency.com/undefined/@anjanida/re-catotune-2024523t11491176z

!invest_vote

How do I participate in this game

Loading...

IGN? lost-my-keys

When? Joined in Dec 2021, pretty much the peak of the last bull run

Why? Bit of an odd story mine, i'm not even really a gamer (well not since i left school 20 years ago!) Ended up buying some SPS when I fomo'd into a few random crypto's amongst all the hype of late 2021, then watched as everything I bought tumbled down in price over the next few months. I figured I would check out what SPL was (i had to google what TCG meant!!!), in an attempt to get something out of my investment into SPS (i bought in around $0.12). Have played daily ever since Jan 22 and managed to get my cost basis under $0.05 now without buying any more SPS (mainly through staking, ranked rewards and tournaments)

Previous League? Until the recent changed I played in Modern Silver 1 and whilst i never made leader board i would always finish in the top 100, think my best was top 40. Now i dont really play much modern due to the mis-match in decks I face, though i do try and at least get into Silver 3, in the hope that i can return soon and avoid having to grind out of Bronze completely. I'm currently playing manually in wild (i dont believe in botting) and whilst i enjoy it to a point, i dont really want to be playing there as i dont have the deck for it, despite hitting Champ3 most seasons. Thats more a reflection on the low level bots than my ability!

SPS? Every single SPS i earn is staked, as i said above i started playing and my focus was on getting my cost basis down. In doing so i fell in love with the game. I flip the odd amount into DEC to rent a few key cards i cant afford, or to try out new ones before i buy them. My wild multiplier is very low, around 3.5x as i'm not set up to play in Champ3, my 'level' is silver as this reflects my budget and invest (i spend between $50-100 p/m on cards) My modern silver multiplier is over 10x. I dont rent any SPS as i dont like the recurring costs

My Deck? I own 99% of the cards i have, renting about 4-5 key ones i havent bought yet. I'm currently focused on key RB cards im missing like Venka, Rage etc and i dont have any of the summoners other than Akane (hes a lot of fun i find!). I have bought a few cheap untamed cards recently that i missed playing when they moved out of modern but my focus is still 99% on modern RB cards and upgrading my RW collection which is mostly bronze still.

Rewards? I track my season rewards on a spreadsheet and used to earn around 120 SPS per season and 75 BCX of cards, mostly commons obviously. I averaged 1 legendary every other season and 3 Epics. Now i just track my EOS glint which is about 35k so far. I spend this on 1 legendary, 1 Epic, 2k merits and the remainder on rares for the summoners. Whilst my rewards have dropped a lot, i do actually prefer the control and choice over what to spend the glint on, though i do feel the prices in the store are too high.

Season Fee? If the new cost to play in wild is implemented i would definitely move back to modern, though i would really want them to implement the league structure back in place if this happens. Its not much fun getting smashed by max decks. I know the counter argument is to buy CL as its cheap, but i dont feel that's a fair expectation and once it rotates out there is no way i could keep that level of a deck going with the cost of RB or future sets. As other comments have said, silver is my place... id like my place back!

Generally... I'm still a big fan of SPL and dont see myself leaving, i play most days, focusing on glint earning, tournaments and brawls. I will never bot, i would rather liquidate if playing becomes too costly / no fun. I hope we can get to a place where we respect and value all levels of players in the game.
As a side note i would also like to see a fairer conflicts system implemented, as the current one isn't rewarding unless you have a large invest RB cards. I have 3 wagons and around 6-7 silver level leg cards staked, but still im no where near the requirement for any airdrops and haven't pulled a single one yet which is disappointing given my (moderate) investment into RB cards. Maybe an SPS staking boost, or increased multiplier based on power staked in wagons would make this feel more rewarding and make me want to keep working on my wagons.

This post has been supported by @Splinterboost with a 15% upvote! Delagate HP to Splinterboost to Earn Daily HIVE rewards for supporting the @Splinterlands community!

Delegate HP | Join Discord

Congratulations @oaaguy! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 800 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 900 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

@anjanida denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@anjanida thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !