Splinterlands Quidditch: My Splinterlands Journey - Battling Since Block 27, 239, 400

in Splinterlands4 years ago (edited)

I embarked on my first ever @Splinterlands quest in late October 2018 - recorded in block 27, 239, 400, it was the 37th transaction in that particular block, you can check it out on Hive Blocks here.

First Monsters.JPG

I fail to remember whether this first ever battle was a victory or not, probably not as I would have had precious little idea what I was doing back then in late October 2018.

Fast forward to today and here are my stats....

SP.JPG

Based on the last few battles...

Battle.JPG

I guess a win rate of almost 64% isn't too bad, for a guy who doesn't have a maxed deck, although I could probably do better!

Anyways, this is my Splinterlands story, in response to this week's @bdcommunity weekly challenge.

My route into Splinterlands

I remember I bought a few Alpha packs with pre-Hive, I think that was throughout the summer of 2018, and then I spent around $200 on some sort of 100 beta pack deal around the time I went pre-Hive Fest 3 in Krakow 2018, I wouldn't have posted about it back then, as I wasn't feeling like writing about much, but I do know I was playing - I definitely played a few matches and had chats about monsters with a few people in Poland, and I definitely didn't get a free monsters T shirt, they'd all been nabbed just before I got around to heading over to see @aggroed.

NB I don't really regard myself as a gamer, I much rather prefer writing, in fact I probably enjoy writing about the game more than I do playing it, but the daily quest has become part of my daily life and it does break the day up!

February 2019 - My first post about Splinterlands

I remember pre-Hive Fest 3 getting me enthusiastic about pre-Hive, and I must have started buying into Splinterlands during that time, as I made my first Splinterlands Post in Feb 2019: The Cheapest Cards to Level up and Max Out, the title giving away the fact that I've always been a bit of a tightwad, although it served me well - on the basis of that post, I made the decision to level up this bad boy to Level 3:

At a cost of.... $1.20 per card. Back then we were receiving cards as every single reward for a daily quest, I guess this is what kept the price suppressed. I've still got that same card, and still use it more than any other tank. The current cheapest single card price is $7.77, even with the maxed premium they're around $3.50.

Hindsight is a wonderful thing, if only then I'd had known I'd be looking at a 200% gain on Lord A I might have bought more. Here's a cost analysis of some of the other Life Splinter cards I did back then if yer interested:

CARDS.JPG

The prices have mostly gone up, if temporarily suppressed by the Whale sell-off.

The giveaway phase

I went through a short phase in spring of 2018 doing giveaways with my alt-account self-track - not really wanting short form content on this blog - I actually earned more in upvotes than the value of the cards I gave away.

March 2019 - First Maxed Level Summoner

I must have been gradually playing more and more through Summer - Autumn 2018 into 2019, as this post outlines how I was about to gain my first ever maxed out Life summoner.

I don't know what made me opt for Life, it's one of my favourite splinters, if not the most powerful!

May 2019 - Splinterland's Review...

I took part in a Review a Dapp competition in May 2019 - and wrote this review of Splinterlands - it's probably my best post on the game, it earned >$50 so it's also one of my highest paid out posts.

pre-Hive PD - I bought in quite big!

Quite a lot of my pre-Hive went on DEC and cards during April - June, if only I'd had held out a bit longer for the whale sale, then again, hindsight!

Best seasons have been the last two...

I've reached Champions one twice, both of those in the last two seasons, and I don't think either time has been particularly difficult, but I do seem to be capped at around 4800 - I just seem to get Yodins too often when I'm up there, and there's no point lesser accounts like me playing against those, so I just surrender.

I actually have 8 Yodins myself, so I could just max mine out easily enough, the problem is I don't have a decent Fire deck - I sacrificed it to build the others!

Currently enjoying the weekly challenges

I do the @splinterlands and now @bdcommunity challenges every week, I find these very enjoyable I must say! Especially when we get something amusing to write about, like the Cube - one of my favorite cards - I even invented the concept of being cubed....'Have you been cubed'... ?

Closing thoughts - I'm open to guild offers

As I mentioned above, I'm more of a writer than a gamer, but I'll carry on playing @Splinterlands into the foreseeable future. I imagine I'll see in block 100 000 000 with a battle or two!

I'm still not a member of a guild, so if there are any openings in a suitably levelled one - I seem to be making C1 pretty easily these days - then drop me a line!

Sort:  

I love history and it is always very fascinating to remember the past. For a long time I didn't play, I just participated in card draws, I didn't play for fear of being addicted, and I was right, today I'm addicted!

That's interesting to here, you've clearly learnt the mechanics quickly! Love your posts!

Thank you!

I've been reaching C2 regularly recently, but that may be more due to levelling up my deck than improved strategy. I keep playing the daily quests and sometimes do a few battles just for fun. Maybe I'll even learn to play better eventually.

I'm also not in a guild. Maybe we should start a 'Guild for the guildless'. I have no idea of what is involved.

If you're interested in really seeing how good you are @nealmcspadden has set up I think it's 8 accounts for tournaments, which are all the same!

Good idea for a guild, although technically it's an impossibility - as soon as you join a guild, yer no longer guildless!

Excellent history. I am only playing for 6-8 months I think:) late adopter but card games come naturally to me. So it’s been a simpler journey for me. Last season was my best as well.

Wow that does sound late, I'd never played card games before this - I've always preferred building type games with a slower pace, until pay to play ruined them for me and I just stopped!

I think the bots are back, so C1 might be a bit more of a challenge this season.