After a Long Break

in Splinterlands2 years ago

image.png

The current season is about to end. Only a day and two hours remain. Unfortunately, I haven’t submitted yet my entries for both the Social Media Challenge and Share Your Weekly Battle Story. I think I already skipped two weeks. That’s a loss in terms of missing the incentives to add for my Hive Power. If I am not mistaken, I already missed writing my story for the last three seasons, 12th to 14th. I hope that this season, on my 15th, I will be able to return to my writing task.

In Search of the Causes of My Withdrawal from Writing

I have been wrestling with the idea that caused me to stop writing. In my last post about CENT, I was able to identify there one of the reasons. I mentioned that it was because my mind has been preoccupied with so many things that include ListNerds, PolyCub, blockchain-based games, CTP, Hive, and Web 3.0.

But still, I am not convinced that this is the primary reason. I wrote two months ago about my struggle during the 10th season. I am now thinking that am I feeling that time is the early sign of losing interest in the game? I mentioned there about my observation concerning the change in Ranked Battle rewards. I haven’t read any official announcement regarding this but the rewards have been reduced.

Two days ago, Splinterlands announced the Ending of DEC Reward Payouts for Uniswap Liquidity Pools. After reading that post, I wrote a comment hoping that the recent update would improve the ranked battle rewards. I just could not understand that even with a 100% capture rate and a series of wins at Silver III, receiving at least 2 DEC as a reward appears to be very difficult.

Today, I found out another reason. And this time it has something to do with my laptop. Since the day I added a hard disk to my laptop, there are times that Drive D is not read. All of my folders related to Splinterlands are there. Even though I would restart my laptop several times, still the problem persists. And then after a day or two, the Drive D will re-appear, and so I have access again to my Hive and Splinterlands files.

Cloud Storage as my Solution

I made a temporary solution by creating a separate folder in my Drive C. You know the aging man here is getting confused keeping folders in two different drives. And so today I decided to create another email address devoted exclusively to blockchain and cryptocurrency. And so, I uploaded on the cloud the necessary folders for me to access my files anytime regardless of the performance of my laptop in reading Drive D.

Now, I am back to re-organizing my files. Checking them on the cloud, I observe that the last folder I made for Splinterlands is during the 11th season. That explains why I failed to write my story beginning the 12th season.

image.png

The upload is done and out of a total available 15 GB, I only used 1.58 GB for two folders.

Reconnecting the Dots

Tracing my train of thought, I need to recall what I wrote during the 11th season. That season was the first time that I didn’t rush to the rental market since the day I reached Silver III. I stated then that part of my goal is to pull my family’s accounts one by one to reach Bronze I. Moreover, after spending 25% of my staked SPS just to reach the Silver league, I returned to SPS staking. From 810 SPS in the 11th season, I now reached 930 SPS.

And then I came up with another idea. This time it is about using my SPS airdrops and staking rewards, the voucher, and rewards from other layers 2 tokens to increase my holdings in CENT.

During the 12th season, the only thing I shared on D.Buzz is the rewards I received. 190 collection power and 160 DEC were added to my account at that time.

Two Encouraging Days

After too many frustrating DQ rewards, I had two consecutive days that I received higher rewards. That was twenty days ago. After playing Splinterlands for almost seven months, finally, the chest shook, and a legendary card appeared:

image.png

The next day, though not as big as the previous day, the rewards are still good. This time it’s an Epic card and 134 DEC!

image.png

That’s the reality in playing Splinterlands. There are days that the progress is so slow. And then suddenly, you will be surprised with great rewards.

Back to Writing about Splinterlands

After the 12th season, I discovered the data that I overlooked for months, which are recorded on the Hive blockchain. This made me curious and caused me to write two posts narrating my Hive Journey. My story covered the period from the day I started on Splinterlands, from August 2021 to December 8.

Before I will continue narrating my Hive Journey story for the succeeding three months, from 08 December to 08 March, I think I need first to focus on writing about the two Splinterlands’ weekly challenges. If I will not do this, my HP goal will suffer.

Finally, I can connect the missing links in my brain. Despite my interest to participate in Power Up Day, to write about micro-investing and the idea of Hive as a compounding machine, to set aside a budget to increase my holdings both CUB and POLYCUB, I think I am now ready to write again about Splinterlands this next season. And to accomplish this, I need to collect new data based on my experience in playing the game.

If reading this article got you curious about Splinterlands and its game economy, why not give it a try? Here's my code.

Grace and peace!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing! - @marianaemilia

Good Work!

😍🤩😎