You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why you should expect "bad" luck if you open <1,000 CL packs.

in Splinterlands2 years ago

Heyy really solid response to the post i did. I particularly like how in depth you've gone with statistics on luck. I agree that i was doomed to fail from the start, though that comes from the experience of having opened the packs as i did.

I will say that i did have a lot of fun with the openings, i even got my kid involved in tapping the cards to flip them and see what i got, which she loved by the way :)

Though i came out in the red financially, you are right that fun has intrinsic value here and should be taken into consideration, which is why im honestly not mad about the money side of things. More aware for sure, but i enjoyed my time with it.

I appreciate that my post has resulted in such an informative post by yourself, and i appreciate how respectful you're critique was of my openings and luck :)

Sort:  

Hey! I'm glad you appreciated it! I'm never quite sure whether to sub-tweet or actually mention by name the people I'm referring to. But I honestly want to pass my thoughts to people who might benefit from it, so usually go with tagging them.

And I'm glad that it was a lot of fun! Especially with your kid. It's so easy as a jaded adult to just hit "revel all" and move on. I sometimes wish I was able to think less about the ROI of it and just enjoy it (I've only opened 2 packs so far because of the math above). I might have more fun if I accept some loss and open packs, as that would expand my collection a ton and allow for more variety in my games.

Honestly i couldn't tell you either xD im just happy to have my first post noticed by someone, im new to this myself and am just trying to find my footing.

Ill admit, some of the cards i got while opening were quite useful and ive found myself renting them now anyways, so its not the worst idea if you have the money to get into it. Its fun and you can get some pretty funky cards in the process, but like youve pointed out, single card buys are probably the best way to go financially.