When A Chicken Is The Only Tank You Need

in Splinterlands3 years ago


3RTd4iuWD6NUeJEn5AVrJUoyatFqBqfcCJi1N7UixR4g2KPKN7w8NpZL7qrJ4ETeGdj5C8fSCmkKo5eSF2AnwLmN33VVzFxRRSmiJyEvwSmkNNbJ6cY1NJcYxW3Hup7bSaPej4oXeYAgPbbs5MqctSXqHB1gpVpTLHqAkqgppEXtYM.gif

Today's daily quest in Splinterlands is to win five battles with the water splinter. I usually struggle with this one, because I don't typically play water and I'm not terribly familiar with the best strategies for water. But this just gives me a chance to learn more and grow as a player, as well as to make use of the card for this week's themed Share Your Battle challenge, the Coral Wraith.


In this particular battle, I took advantage of the fact that it was a low mana battle at only 14 points. With not a lot of points to have the best tanks, the best damage, and the best support, I decided to double down on damage, and try to win fast. Specifically, I wanted magic damage.

My Strategy

Water splinter excels with magic damage, and using Alric Stormbringer as my summoner to buff each magic card, I was hoping to just overwhelm from wherever I had to attack from.

The chicken was to be my only tank. And if it could keep me alive for just long enough for a magic onslaught, I'd be happy.

Spoiler alert. The chicken did its job, taking the only damage my opponent was able to deliver.


chickentank.png

The remaining cards were chosen to get the most total magic damage dealing cards on the field with the available mana. From my collection I chose Medusa and Enchanted Pixie and put Medusa in the back as the highest health to defend against any attacks from the back. Coral Wraith worked in to this wonderfully. With each getting +1 from Alric Stormbringer I could do 7 points of damage per round from all cards.

My opponent was playing a lot of fire recently, so I was hoping they'd have a hard time deciding whether to focus on aggro and damage, or split their small amount of mana between tanks, and damage. To my benefit, they chose tanks and support, relying on the tank to also run damage.

Fortunately all of my magic attacks bypassed their Goblin Mech's armor making a typically frustrating novice level tank not quite so formidable.

This was what I was hoping for, to create a magic lineup that would be more aggressive than their lineup, which I expected to be melee heavy.

The Outcome

Everything went according to plan... this time. I liked using Coral Wraith in this kind of lineup, but in a higher mana battle, I'd definitely need more in the way of protection for these relatively fragile magic damages to shine. I'll keep this card in mind if I need a good sneak card from the water splinter in the future. Watch the battle play out at this link.

Thanks for reading, and if you're not already playing Splinterlands, you're missing out. Click here to start playing!


splinterlandsbanner.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @starbork! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - June 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thanks for sharing! - @mango-juice

nice strategy with that chicken. it may seem tiny and powerless but its a very important card to hold. Keep playing SL and post awesome content like this one.