My Splinterlands Journey in the Eyes of a Crypto Gamer

in Splinterlands3 years ago (edited)

A Deep Dive into Splinterlands

Hi all! This will be my first Splinterlands post so I would appreciate it if you guys could support me!

Discovering Splinterlands

Having played a couple of crypto games these past few weeks, it was by chance that I happened to cross paths with Splinterlands. I have always seen the game at the top of Dappradar charts, but never paid much notice to it. It was not until, I saw the user base growing rapidly and the introduction of the SPS (Splintershards) token that I decided that I would like to try it.

First Look at Splinterlands

At first glance, the game seems to be just like any other card game that I have played--unique cards with abilities, statuses, and mana cap. It kind of reminded me of Vanguard. However, as soon as I played more and more, I quickly realized just how phenomenal the potential of blockchain and gaming is. The beauty of Splinterlands lies within its spontaneity and economy. These two aspects of the game for me are what makes the game interesting and exciting.

The spontaneity of the games thrives on the randomness of battles from differing mana caps, battle rules, card variations, and even the summoner levels. What seemed to be a simple game at first can turn out into something much more complex. That is where I saw the brilliance of the game. Something that is easy to learn, but hard to master- the very essence of a game masterpiece.

While the randomness of the game element, certainly adds an excitement, I find that the game economy is much more commendable. Everything from card rentals, NFT (non-fungible tokens) market, DEC (dark energy crystal) utility, ECR(energy capture rate) and SPS airdrop was very well-thought of. While those were the basics, what caught my eye was the increasing Loot Chest Reward and higher DEC rewards for each tier that we have overcome. This might seem unimportant at first, but a closer look would enable us to see that this greatly rewards player's hard work, skill, and the effort one has put in, as opposed to just time spent in the game.

First Day in Splinterlands

My first day in Splinterlands is just like any other player's. Buying that Spellbook seemed to me was a small hurdle, as it opened up a new world of possibilities in the blockchain. Opening chests was the most exciting part of course! What made the game quite unique is that rather than planning our moves during the game, it starts the game in such a way that foresight is rewarded, which I thought was quite intriguing. Predicting the splinter our opponent is going to use will certainly give us an advantage, but doing so under time pressure and unpredictable battle rules, certainly is challenging!

Final Thoughts of the Game

While we cannot foresee what would happen in the future, what I could say for certain is that the game is here to stay. With achieving just over 200,000 players now (half of the player growth being in August), more players are sure to come and enjoy the game once it receives the attention it deserves. Not to mention, the updates from the Chaos Legion Packs, Lands, Guild Brawls, and Items, would keep older players interested.

Card games was definitely taken to a whole new dimension, after Splinterlands combined blockchain and gaming! The game is still early, and many more updates will come. Once the game achieves astronomical growth, we, as the early players of the game, will have that strong sense of pride that Splinterlands became what it is because of us, and I think that it, in itself, is something that will be valuable to each and every one of us.

Sort:  

Go and win the game as much as possible. It is all in your hand. Just stick on it to get something, It is all about the competitor in the game always and each and every time ..... game means competition. Fight to win if not you loss the gift.

Thank you! Will surely grind and get to the top!