Tambay Journey: My First Brawl

in Splinterlands10 months ago

Sharing my Splinterlands journey. Click this for the first post.

I'm back with an update on my first Brawl including a sample battle and some explanation on my chosen team.

While playing some rank battles, I received a random invitation to join a guild called Gold Fish.

I don't know anyone here. And we (or maybe just me) don't talk much, though we do have a Discord.

Anyway, here's the result of our Brawl.

image.png

I think we did pretty well. @tommyboii and myself both went undefeated.

Unfortunately the guild only ranked #5 overall.

image.png

As you can see though, we only had 82 battles, while all the guilds who ranked above us had 103 battles. I believe we could've ranked higher if we had more battles.

But let's focus on the good stuff LOL.

image.png

I went 8-0!!! 🤣

The merits and the SPS are great too! I just need 3 more brawls with similar rewards to get my very first Gladius pack!

If you play in Modern Bronze now, you have probably met too many Quora or Captain Katie. They're annoying 🤣 but hopefully I get one of them (better both!) soon so I can annoy people too. 🤣

I want to share one battle from my brawl.

https://splinterlands.com/?p=battle&id=sm_a2riK9kcjkakG1cou2Cf

This is a Novice CL-only Fray. This means the max level of cards is Level 1. And we can only use Chaos Legion cards (+ Gladius of course since this is a brawl).

The rules are:

Taking Sides- we can't use Neutral cards
Briar Patch - all cards have Thorns (if a card gets hit by a melee attack, the attacker receives 2 damage)
'Tis but Scratches - all cards have Cripple (which means every time a card gets hit, it loses 1 Max Health)

When I see the Briar Patch (Thorns!) rule, I usually avoid using Melee attacks because I don't want to be damaged back by Thorns.

I assume my opponent would also avoid using Melee cards. So we're down to using either Ranged or Magic attacks.

I thought of using the summoner Ilthain, which gives all cards the Return Fire ability (Ranged attackers receive return damage. Kinda similar with Thorn, but with Ranged cards).

But what if the opponent uses Magic damage? That would render Ilthain useless.

This is why I ended up choosing Grandmaster Rathe as my summoner. It gives +1 armor which could help against Ranged or Physical attacks. But wait...theres more! It turns your cards' armor into Void Armor which means even Magic damage will hit the armor first before damaging your card's health.

It also gives the Amplify ability which increases the effect of return damage (Thorns, Return Fire, and Magic Reflect).

Now that I have chosen a summoner, I need to choose my tank card. This will be first in line to take the damages.

Normally when I use Grandmaster Rathe, I choose a tank that has lots of Armor because it synergizes well with the summoner abilities. However I got worried that the opponent may use the summoner Immortalis which gives the skill Shatter that can destroy all your armor with just 1 hit.

So I decided to use Drybone Barbarian. This card has high health and attack. It also has the Enrage ability which increases melee attack and speed when damaged.

Then I chose Corsair Bosum next to the tank. This card has Reach ability which means it could attack the enemy's tank. It also has a high melee attack and armor, which means it could probably survive long if my tank goes down quickly.

The best thing about this card? It has Reflection Shield, which means it does not take damage from Blast or any Return Damage. So it won't get damaged by Thorns. It won't get damaged by the Blast from my opponent's Goblin Tower.

Next I chose Time Meddler. This card has good armor and health. Also has 2 Magic Damage which is cool for a level 1 card. It also has the Dodge ability which gives it an increased chance (25%) to avoid Ranged or Melee attacks. I used this just in case my opponent focuses on using Ranged cards.

Next is Venari Crystalsmith. This is a healer. That's really all I want it to do here. 😄

Next is Time Mage. It has Magic Damage and has the Slow ability. This would help make me attack first, and also increase my chances of hitting my opponent with Melee or Ranged attacks (this is in case my opponent chooses a high speed card).

Lastly I chose Adelaide Brightwing. I chose it simply for its Repair ability. Remember, my summoner makes my armors Void Armor, so the Repair ability synergizes well with this summoner. It's almost the same as healing in this battle.

Here's how our lineups look:

image.png

As you can see, my opponent chose mostly Magic cards with a couple of Ranged cards at the back.

Honestly when I saw his lineup, I already knew I would win. His tank (Mycelic Slipspawn) won't last long because of my high damage cards.

And his damage is not all focused on my tank because he has Hunter Jarx which has the Snipe ability (it would prioritize my non-melee backline).

While sometimes it's good to target the backline using abilities like Snipe, Sneak, or Opportunity, there are times when we need to focus our damage into one enemy. The goal is to quickly take down the first target then move to the next target.

If our lineups have different targets, maybe we won't have enough damage to quickly take an enemy.

As you can see, he did not kill my Drybone Barbarian in the 1st round. So it was still able to do 1 attack in the 2nd round while it is enraged! Few cards in Novice would survive an attack with 6 damage.

So after I took down Mycelic Slipspawn it all went downhill for my enemy.

image.png

That's it for now guys! Hopefully I'll have time for another update soon.

PS: If you don't have a Splinterlands account yet, you may sign up using my referral link: https://splinterlands.com?ref=tambay

Sort:  

This post has been supported by @Splinterboost with a 5% upvote! Delagate HP to Splinterboost to Earn Daily HIVE rewards for supporting the @Splinterlands community!

Delegate HP | Join Discord

Congratulations @tambay! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 1
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 15
Our Hive Power Delegations to the July PUM Winners