Newbie - first impressions

in Splinterlands3 years ago

After all that hype and talk about NFT and gamming, I stumbled upon Splinterlands and decided to see what's the commotion all about. So Icreated the an account, played through the Tutorial and eventually bought the Spellbook .

I decided not to invest any money at the beginning as I am not familiar with the game so I am playing with free cards, which can only get you up to "Bronze III" level as you don't have enough power to move to next level. Reward at this level are really low (0.5 DEC o average for win) so it seems I am getting nowhere near time soon. Daily quest reward are around DEC at his level, so all together you can get 10 to 20 DEC daily. I will continue like this for one month to get familiar with the game and than see if I get hooked or I lose my interest.

I also looked at few videos ("Tutorials") online and on Splintertalk, but i am still not any smarter how to get started, without investing to much, so any advice from more experienced user would be helpful and much appreciated.

I would just like to point out to all the newbies, not to expect any kind of "passive income", like advertise on some posts and videos, as it seems it takes a lot off investment (time, money) to advance to the levels where one would be profitable or be competitive.

Sort:  

The rewards chest are random. A chest won at the bronze league has the same chance at flipping a Legendary Gold as a chest flipped in the Champion league. I always tell new players that basic game strategy is mele in the front (with high health if possible) magic goes anywhere and range in the back. Stick to that basic game strategy and once you get the hang of game play and all the different rules sets you can adjust.

I have just delegated you a few cards. One being the Furious Chicken in which I see you are renting. You can now cancel your rental because you have one delegated to you for free. These delegations will stay for the remainder of this season and likely longer but eventually they will be removed. Good luck on the battlefield, if you have any questions about the game ask away.

Posting Tip: Posts with images in them usually get more views.

Thanks for your advice, tips and card rentals. I assume Chicken should be placed at the last position as filler. How do I use "Sand worm" most efficiently ?

Any position is a good position for the chicken. The only bad position is forgetting to play it when there's a spot available to do so. I like to put Sandworm in the back. It has a high mele attack but low health. I try to keep it as far away from first position as possible.

Can you help me with with issue I have ? I can't upload images to splintertalk - Image Upload Error 400 - (UPLOAD FAILED) ERROR. Is there any support I can contact ?

Left click > copy image address > Paste

Try it with the below image.

hello @tinymouse welcome to hive! This is @macchiata from @OCD team. We saw that you already posted your first post here in Hive! Congratulations and welcome! However, it would be awesome if you do an introduction post. As a sample of what an intro post is, you can refer to this intro post for reference:

Keeping Up With the Buzz - My Introduction to the Hive Community

There's no specific format on how you do your intro post, but there is some suggested content that we would love to see in your post. Information like who are you and where you're from, how did you discover Hive or who invited you, what types of content you want to see here and the types that you want to produce, and what are your expectations in this platform. There's no pressure on this. You can choose whatever information you would like to share.

You can tag me @macchiata on your intro post then if you decided to make one.