Splinterlands card ideas: The UNHALLOWED WASP

IMG_20230211_200455.jpg

Ive been known in my time, to turn my hand to a few things that require me putting pencil to paper. Ive been lucky recently in that ive managed to find some extra time within my busy day to not only write some intresting blogs, but put some thought in to a new set of #splinterlands cards.

So before I walk you through my thought processes and design ideas behind a new set of splinterlands cards, lets remind you of some of the things i have been responsible for since I appeared on the blockchain a few years ago:

IMG_20230211_200330.jpg

Im proudly responsible for the 2018 #steemsilverround and while a fe wof you have completely turned your back on the platform, I still look back at those times with incredibly fond memories.

IMG_20230211_200420.jpg

Then there was this little gem.... Designing this beautiful 12oz sulver bar for one of the OG silverstacker here on hive @raybrockman.

Screenshot_20230129_150606_Chrome.jpg

Im not "high tech" at all when it comes to using computer software, and most of my ideas and designs begin life with a piece of paper and a pencil in my hand... Thats exactly where these new set of splinterlands cards began.

For these particular set of monsters, I thought to myself - "if youre going to design a card, how can they be linked across many splinterd?" So I settled with the idea of an insect and not just any insect but the most annoying of all summer bugs - the wasp, as you Yanks call them "yellow jacket".

In this blog ill be showing the DEATH splinter vesrion of my vision the UNHALLOWED WASP

20230211_203703.png

This wasnt actually the first concept of this monster and wasnt even the first splinter i attempted. That fell to the Earth splinter, butnill keep that for a separate blog. In my head i wanted to bring to life(pun intended) something fitting for the death splinter. I had visions of a zombie style wasp with dripping innards and a more graphic look!! But to keep this PG13, i tamed it down a bit and settled on what i actuathink is a better repreof what i had in mind anyways.

20230207_143653.jpg

Using a simple scanner to get the drawing to my PC, it was time to set about it with the wonder of windows PAINT 3D. Yes, im that high-tech!! I removed the remaining initial pencil marks simply by painting the white, then set about colouring in the wasp. Goi g for your greens and purples, i thought this was defi a dead zombie look that fitted well with the drawing and potential game layout.

Using the "spray can" option, i then proceeded to add a layered texture to the background and blended it in with over lapping strokes. Not only did it make the was "pop" on the page, when i camento cutting and pasting it over to a premade card template i had made earlier, it looked pretty good too.

20230209_100007.jpg

As you can see, I initially made up my own shapes using my basic PC package options, before deciding that it was far too tacky and looked awful. By simply downloading the pictures straiggt from the splinterlands webpage, I was ablento give the card a more authentic appearance and look far better.

20230210_213454.jpg

So, submitted for the approval of the midnight society your approval and critique I give you the RARE, DEATH splinter card - THE UNHALLOWED WASP.

Ive been working on the whole "LORE" and back story of these creatures, but ill give that to you once ive shown all 4 cards in this set.

Screenshot_20220214-214651_Chrome.jpg

40+yr old, trying to shift a few pounds and sharing his efforsts on the blockchain. Come find me on STRAVA or actifit, and we can keep each other motivated .

Screenshot_20211227-214606_Chrome.jpg

Proud member of #teamuk. Teamuk is a tag for all UK residents, ex-pats or anyone currently staying here to use and get a daily upvote from the community. While the community actively encourages users of the platform to post and use the tag, remember that it is for UK members only.

Come join the community over on the discord channel- HERE

Want to find out more about gold and silver? Get the latest news, guides and information by following the best community on the blockchain - #silvergoldstackers. We're a group of like minded precious metal stackers that love to chat, share ideas and spread the word about the benefits of "stacking". Please feel free to leave a comment below or join us in the community page, or on discord.

Screenshot_20211019-213209_Chrome.jpg

Sort:  

This post has been given a 7.5% UpVote by the SplinterBoost Community Curation Bot.
image.png
Vote For Witness | Delegate HP | Join Discord

You received an upvote of 100% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Please remember to contribute great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag to create another Precious Gem.

I don't know why, but for some reason after reading your title, My mind forms: 'The Unhallowed Ape'

I'm not sure there are any Ape-like creatures in #Splinterlands

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Hahahah @evernoticethat I do have Apes as a set of cards ill be adding to my collection. I also noticed there were very few primates in the splinterlands. Tou read my mind

You have good skills on graphic design, very good

The design looks attractive , but color scheme your choose need to be worked on. Over all it's a good art.

Thanks for sharing! - castleberry#6859

You have put a lot of effort into making it and its beauty is enhanced when you fill it with colors. You have a very good graphics design skills.