Fire Strategy for Beginners (like me) - My week in Splinterlands

in Splinterlands3 years ago (edited)

If you haven't already, start playing Splinterlands for free with my referral link.

Let it Burn

As I described in my last Splinterlands post, I was testing the water cards and splinters for my first week in the game. This week we'll burn water with fire (if that's even possible) and test out the fire-type splinters!
Using only the starting ghost cards everyone gets, I had little to no success. I could get a grasp as to how the cards worked, however, my win rate was not that great. Maybe more than the actual card quality, the problem is that I was too new to fire strategy and wasn't able to make it quite work.

image.png

Trust the Market

Searching the market as I usually do, I wanted to find good cheap fire cards that could increase my win rate, without spending too much, only with the daily DEC earnings I was having just from playing.
Lucky enough, I was able to find the perfect fit for my team comp: Fineas Rage.

image.png

With him, it's always best to come second.
Fineas is such a great card for my playing level on bronze. Most of the time I was struggling because I used one very tanky monster and a bunch of utility and attacking squishy monster to back the tank up with damage.
With Fineas, I am able to make a more secure and viable setup, since putting him on the second spot allows me to put up a hp wall, defending all my squishy monsters from incoming attacks. He's got 8 base heath!! As a level one card, he has the Reach ability, meaning he can always attack in the second position.

The setup

My go-to setup with fire-type cards is as follows:

  • Splinter: Malric Inferno (gives plus one damage to melee attackers);
  • First position: Living Lava(7 mana tank with shield and damage reduction);
  • Second position: Fineas Rage(high damage and high health with reach);
  • Serpentine Spy: comes in clutch with the opportunity ability (targets enemy with the lowest health);
  • Kobold Miner: low-cost minion that targets the enemy's last position monster;
  • Last position: Fire Beetle: ranged minion with Snipe. Has good health for last position damage absorption.

Results

image.png

Using this comp, I was able to dramatically increase my winning rate. From bronze 3 with my water-type deck from last week, I was able to jump all the way to Bronze one. At times, my problem was that I was outpowering myself and had to rent some gold foiled cards to keep up with my rank.
The only problem with this setup is that it really relies on the last monster staying alive for the majority of the game. Some comps with death can really shred our plan altogether. However, for a beginner this is still pretty good: all ghost cards apart from Fineas. Easy to play and, most importantly, cheap. Perfect for a beginner player like me, only tipping my tools on the Splinterlands ocean.

Thank you so much for reading my post. Any and all feedback is greatly appreciated. I am absolutely loving writing about the game and joining this fantastic community!

Sort:  

Congratulations @xgoivo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 300 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thanks for sharing! - @alokkumar121