They call me by name...

in Ecency Support2 months ago

Duško

That name is derived from the old Serbian name Dušan (which I don't like too much).
The name Dušan originates from the words "duh(ghost)" and "duša(sou)l" or from the name for the holiday "Duhovi(Ghosts)".
This name is synonymous with beauty and goodness 😇.

In the past, it expressed the parents' desire and interest for the child to live a long time.
One of the first great men to bear this name was the Serbian medieval ruler from the Nemanjić family Dušan Silni(The strong).
For a long time it was avoided to give this name to common people, for the reason that a ruler bore that name.

The name Duško was popular in the former Yugoslavia in the second half of the 20th century and today it is widespread in Serbia, Croatia and Bosnia and Herzegovina.

Personally, I know probably more than 10 Dušan, while I only know 4 namesakes, with the name Duško.

Do you personally know someone named Duško or Dušan?

If I write you the abbreviation for the city of Belgrade, where I live is Bgd, it will be completely clear to you where I got the nickname for my username 😀

This post could easily have gone to #introduceyourself comunity 😀

Sort:  

Thanks 🙂
Does this DM option only work via PC? I can't find it on mobile...

I don’t know anyone named Dusko, but it is a nice sounding name with an interesting meaning. Thanks for sharing!

You are welcome 🙂
I haven't heard of anyone in Greece being called by my name either 🙂, that's why it doesn't seem familiar to you.

You are the first person with name Dusko I have ever met before :) Nice to meet you :)

Oh wow, how cool to have such a historically significant and spiritual name!

I like it and you would be happy to know that you are the first Dusko I have ever met, so you are completely unique to me! 😃

But do you promounce it doosko or dusssko?
So very nice to meet you!

Nice to meet you, too 🙂

It sounds a lot better Doosko, because you don`t have the Š letter.
It sounds even better Dushko

Yes that does sound nice. Dushko. 😃