You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Favourite Book/ Series: A Song of Ice and Fire

in Ecency Support11 months ago (edited)

Yeah actually thats something I've been thinking of recently, in the last year I've pretty much, exclusively written Sci-fi, but I have an idea for a story that's normal and I've been thinking about how easy it would be to write compared to making up places from scratch.

When describing smells, food, or even creatures I can't refrence something from our world which is the toughest challenge I've found while writing science fiction.

Sort:  

When describing smells, food, or even creatures I can't reference something from our world which is the toughest challenge I've found while writing science fiction.

I once read an interview with William Gibson in which he said that when writing Neuromancer, he used to go to Radio Shack and look around at the latest gadgets. He then would just extrapolate from what was already there to help him populate the world of Neuromancer. That's a neat trick. Easily done now with the availability of the intertubes.