Work-Life Balance

in Ecency Supportlast month

@ecency-star released a prompt today asking that we share our opinions on work-life balance, and talk about whether we have a decent balance in our own lives.

Here's A Link To The Post If You'd Like To Check It Out.



Source


Is It Important?

I suppose it depends on who you ask. There are many people who have decided to dedicate their 20s to working, so they can build up a good portfolio but potentially land themselves a good position in the particular field they studied.

Once they've gotten themselves to a place where they feel secure, with a decent amount of savings, and a chance to gain a mortgage then they can focus on relationships, family, and friends.

For me, I kind of wish I spent my early 20s a bit more effectively, and I'm sure by now I'd be in a much better place than I am. Now, that's not to say I'm not happy where I'm at, at the moment, I'm fairly content. I've hit 30, and I have a good idea of where I'll be in 5 years.

One thing that killed my ambition in my late teens and early 20s was hash. It was like I was living in a constant smokescreen, and I'm glad I cut it out as I got to my mid to late 20s.

Back then, I only cared about the week-to-week, and while I had big ideas about the future, none of those ideas came to fruition.

I've been in a long-term relationship since I was 19 and have had a good bunch of mates all these years, as well as plenty of stuff going on, on the side. All of that didn't really make me want anything more. As I got to 22/23, me and my partner both decided to go to college to study something, and we did.

I always kind of had regrets about not doing it sooner, but as I said above I didn't really care too much about anything else.


Work-Life Balance

In my early 20s, I never had many jobs that ate all my time. I've never done shift work, even though some of my mates did - and hated it.

The main thing I did in the early years was working as a cashier in a few different shops, with no real responsibility, and no insane hours.

During my time in college, I got into extra work - of which there is a ton around where I live - and I fell in love with it. The hours are pretty mad, 5:45 AM/ 6 AM - 6 PM/ 7 PM (Sometimes longer, and sometimes shorter)

When the work was heavy I'd pretty much get in, have a shower, go to my room and watch stuff till I fell asleep at around 9/10 o'clock, and do it all again. The work was grand, and the money was great and I love/ loved it.

Projects are constantly coming and going, so there are always multiple things to be working on, which essentially gives you full-time work doing that - if you want it - or you can decide to stick with one or two projects so you don't have to juggle as much.

I liked getting my head down and getting everything going, which worked for me at the time.

On the side, I could continue to work Freelance.

Since Kaleb came along, however, I've had to stop the Extra work. So I got some other work and it has way better - more sociable hours - which is working as a tour guide/ cashier for a local heritage site.

I have no problem with public speaking, and I love history. Win-win and the hours are decent too. It also allows me to continue with the Freelance work, and my own projects that I'm working on, and also, I can still keep active on Hive.


The Double-Edged Sword

More money, or more time?

For me, time wins without question, every... well, time.

It's great to see people with their heads screwed on who are willing to make sacrifices to make their future easier, but I've never been one of those people. I'll always take the roundabout route to everything, and I've had a fairly fulfilling and happy life so far.

Sort:  

Work life balance always interesting! I also hear work life boundaries...when does work start and stop, not easy when you work at home though!

Ahh yeah, I've heard of that term, where there has to be some sort of a cut-off point. I agree, that working from home is tough for that, and it has to be a conscious effort to switch off.

I also find that Freelance work for clients can easily blur boundary lines, I've had a ton of people I've done music videos for who would hound me constantly until I handed the video back. One person I had was a bit of a night owl and would drop about 10 or 15 voice notes throughout the night, while I had to wake up for work the next day. No matter how much I told them not to, they didn't listen. I was glad to hand that project in by the end.

yes it can be like that sometimes...no time boundaries in music and videos and theatre lol