The True Essence Of My Name!

in Ecency Support2 months ago

What is in a name, you may ask?

Every human has a name, whether native or foreign / Christian, which we call English name here, or nicknames. Names show one's identity and distinguishes them from the other person. Some have multiples of names given to them by parents, grandparents, other relatives plus friends. I have quite a number of them, infact it's the practice in my town to not have just one name, hehehe.


In all of the names that I was given, the one that I'm officially referred to as is "Ezinwanne Okezie", with Ezinwanne being my first name and Okezie, last name - beautiful names, you get, lol. I'm sure most of you who have checked my profile might have seen it.

Now to the meaning of these names

I'll start with my last name - "Okezie".

It's a male name meaning "One who is created well.

You know the creator is a perfect God and he made all his creations perfect and beautiful so it was from this notion that the name came to be.

So Okezie literally means One who is wonderfully, perfectly, handsomely or beautifully as in my own case 😂, made - like bearing all the likeness of God, the creator.


To "Ezinwanne", hmmm. If you have a sibling who is one in a million, I guess you'll say that he is a good brother or a good sister and that's exactly what Ezinwanne means;

a good, kind hearted, loving, caring... sibling.

It's a unisex name, so both males and females bear it but one thing with THIS name is that it's more of a reference name but it's special, unique and not just anyone can bear it, hehehe.


These names are native names, I hail from the Igbo tribe of Nigeria. I love my native name because it shows my identity, my root and heritage and I bear it with pride. I have a Christian name though but it's for the the papers and documents, lol.
I've have had so many people ask me why I prefer my native name, they are like *why not change to your Christian name? Well I understand their plight because it takes one who is good at pronunciation to be able to get it correctly 😅. Even some people from my tribe mispronounce it talk more of a foreigner, hehehe. Sometimes I just tell them to call me Eziy for short, lol.


The name was given to me by my dad and he knew that I will live up to it before he named me. Yes, my name represents my person. I know it's true meaning and that's why I always try to be that good sister to a sibling, a friend, or a total stranger. When a friend and sister inlaw call you Nwanne meaning Sister, I'm sure you know what it means.


Being an attention catching name, I've had people ask me if I'm truly Ezinwanne and my response will always be "Find out for yourself", and I tell you they always have something good to say at the end of the day.


I guard my name so jealously so that nothing will dent it. It is my pride. I know that I have the heart of a good person and I try to do good not only to my family members, friends, relatives, neighbors but to anyone I come in contact with. It is this name that pushes me to go out of my way to show kindness to people around me and beyond. Sometimes my kindness aren't appreciated but it doesn't stop me because that's me being who I was born to be.


So apart from calling me Luchyl, which is my Hive name, you can also call me Ezinwanne. Doing so means that you've touched one of my soft spots, hehehe

Thank you for reading, please visit again.



Still the #threadsaddict 😂



Images 1 & 2
Image 3 Mine Too.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

I love that name "Ezinwanne". It's a beautiful and unique name. I am sure you are living up to that name as I have benefited from your kindness here on Hive.
#dreemerforlife

Awwwn, thank you so much for your kind words. I'm really humbled by them.

Your names are beautiful and meanings are amazing.
Yes, in my tribe too, we don't believe in just one name, that is why I have 4 names including my native name. I am mostly called Oluwabusayo but Busayo in short which means, "God added more Joy". Then I have my native name, "Ajoke" meaning, "one we both nurture"
I have another name, "Omotola" meaning "A child worth prosperity" then my English name is Christianah.
My names are amazing and I guard them well 😊

Wow, beautiful names you've got, I like Ajoke especially how it sounds when pronounced. Now that I know the meaning, I love it more. 😍. It's good to guard your names because they are your identity.

Is it common to have 2 names in your country and is it a popular name there?

Yes, it is, one native and Christian or English.
There are so many popular names here both male and female but mine is not. You rarely hear people that answer it as a name since it's more of a descriptive name.

Eziwanne is a lovely name followed by Ezigbo eyimo. Native names are original and I understand that some persons cannot pronounce it, same as mine.

You will find out when I post about it 😁

You should tell those who can't pronounce your name to call you Zizy, it's quite cool too or don't you think so?

I understand that some persons cannot pronounce it, same as mine.
You will find out when I post about it 😁

Being it on, I'll be waiting to crush it, hehehehe

Yeah, Zizy is cool too, some people do call me that too. Infact I answer anything so far there's E & Z there, lol.

😂😂😂, alright, just wait for it.

It shows you really love your sweet name

Yeah, thanks.

Is it Luchyl as in Oluchi?

Much love to the people that go all out displaying native names to that of English or others 🙌🙌

!BBH

@luchyl! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @kingsleyy. (1/20)

I'm a native woman to the core 😂. Thank you

I see that 😅
Thank you for representing✌️

Ezinwanne. 😁

I was going to ask if you're really an Ezinwanne until I saw the next line. Haha. I love your name; so beautiful.

#dreemerforlife.

You can aril ask,lol. 🤣

I appreciate your kind words