Game Companies taking action with Gaming Photography and their community

In February, Ubisoft announced their 'Photomode Contest 2024' and it really stood out to me that a company was taking action and holding events for the Gaming Photographers in their community.

ubisoftphotocontent.jpg

It began on March 4th and ended on March 31st and the results were shown on their X(Twitter) account here

The shots were impressive and the honorable mentions amazing. I participated in the event myself and it was fun gathering the 4 photos I used for entry.

Of the list of games they had available for entry, I chose The Division 2. Here were my 4 entry photos I captured while playing.

ubisoftphoto1.jpg

Had to be quick to get this photo as the helicopters flares as they only appeared in a mission for about 10-15 seconds

ubisoftphoto2.png

The lights in the rain were spectacular! The helicopter dropping enemies and my agent ready to fire looked great!

ubisoftphoto3.jpg

I set this shot up as a 'Why we(The Division Agents) continue to Fight' with the civilian militia patrolling the National Mall area.

ubisoftphoto4.jpg

This is a photo at the End of the World control point. I thought the photo had a distinctive look with my agent, the control guards, and the banner on the walkway.

Seeing the Discord channel fill up with more submissions was exciting and the community could vote on other gaming photographic side contests on the channel. It's exciting to see that the mainstream community is starting to take notice of Gaming/Virtual Photography and what it can add to the art as a whole.

Congratulations to the winners and I hope other companies begin to leap on the concept. The games are looking better than ever and the opportunity to add a whole other layer for photography is ripe for taking action.

Thank you for reading!

Happy Gaming.