Una aventura llamada mudanza

in Cervantes3 years ago

Una aventura llamada mudanza

Mudarse de casa puede ser una aventura emocionante o la mas terrible de las pesadillas, pero mudarse de país es una historia totalmente diferente.

La primera mudanza que recuerdo en mi vida fue alrededor de mis 10 años de edad. Por primera vez, viviríamos en nuestro propio hogar. Antes de eso, solo vivíamos en hogares arrendados. No alcanzan las palabras para describir la felicidad que eso nos producía a mi, mi hermanito y mi madre. Así es, solo éramos nosotros tres. Mis padres se divorciaron cuando yo solo tenia 5 años de edad y mi hermanito descansaba en el vientre de mi madre.

Por algún motivo, tuvimos que esperar para que nos entregaran el apartamento y por eso nos tocó vivir en un hotel durante muchos meses, hasta que finalmente pudiésemos instalarnos en nuestro nuevo hogar. Ni en sueños pude adivinar que esa no sería la última de mis mudanzas.

Mudarse significa empacar tu vida en cajas. Cuando estas preparando todas tus pertenencias, te das cuenta de objetos que hace mucho tiempo no usabas. Se toman decisiones fáciles y otras no tanto. En ocasiones no te puedes llevar todo contigo y ya no es divertido decidir a qué renunciar, sobretodo cuando entre las cosas a las que debes renunciar, está tu carrera profesional.

Me mudé varias veces dentro de mi propio país, hasta que de forma accidentada nos mudamos a México. Esta mudanza fue prácticamente atropellada y solo pudimos llevarnos dos maletas de ropa cada uno de nosotros: mi esposo, nuestras dos hijas y yo.

Hay eventos que puedes planificar y controlar perfectamente. Sin embargo, hay cosas que simplemente suceden, te sacuden y te retan. De esas, ya he tenido muchas que me han acorralado para sacar lo mejor de mí, hasta el punto de sorprenderme con el nivel de energía y creatividad que nunca pensé tener.

Después de esa mudanza a México, vendrían tres mudanzas mas, pero no lo sabíamos. La siguiente mudanza sería a Bogotá en Colombia, luego nos mudaríamos a Houston y la última mudanza, fue de regreso a Bogotá.

En cada mudanza, vendía o donaba pertenencias, pero también llegaban objetos nuevos. Los retos venían en formar de: buscar nueva casa, nuevo colegio, aprender costumbres y vocabularios diferentes, probar nuevas comidas y relacionarte con los nuevos vecinos y amigos.

La parte mas difícil era despedirse de las nuevas amistades, de las nuevas costumbres que habías aprendido a respetar y sobretodo, pensar que empezaríamos desde cero en un nuevo lugar.

En mi primera mudanza, me apoyé en los nuevos amigos para aprender las costumbres de mi nuevo hogar. Me di cuenta que no tenía tantos objetos que me recordaran a mi país, no tenía fotos familiares y no sabía cocinar muchos de los platos típicos de mi tierra.

En la segunda mudanza, rumbo a Colombia, descubrí la magia de contar con empresas profesionales que envolvían cada mueble y cada pieza pequeña de modo que no se rompieran. En cuanto a la colección de objetos que me recordaban a mi país, ya iba creciendo y mi habilidad para cocinar los platos típicos, también.

En la tercera mudanza, se sumaba una mascota y aprendimos los requisitos de llevarla en un vuelo internacional. Nuestras estrategias para preparar la mudanza eran mas profesionales, ya teníamos seleccionada opciones para la nueva casa y el colegio.

Finalmente, para la última mudanza éramos todos unos profesionales en todos los sentidos. Habíamos cambiado de país tres veces en siete años.

Cerramos las mudanzas llenos de anécdotas, historias y aprendizajes. Los muebles se pueden vender o cambiar, pero de una aventura llamada mudanza, las experiencias vividas y los amigos, son la mayor recompensa.

An adventure called moving

Moving can be an exciting adventure or the most terrifying of nightmares, but moving to a different country is a whole different story.

The first move I remember in my life was around the age of ten. For the first time, my family would live in our own home. Before that, we only lived in rented houses. Words can't describe how happy that made me, my little brother, and mother feel. That's right, it was just the three of us. My parents divorced when I was only five years old and my little brother was resting in my mother's womb.

For some reason, we had to wait for the apartment to be given to us and so we had to live in a hotel for several months until we could finally settle into our new home. Never in my wildest dreams could I have guessed that this would not be the last of my moves.

Moving means packing your life in boxes. When you are preparing all your belongings, you notice items that you haven't used in a long time. You make easy decisions and some not so easy. Sometimes, you can't take everything with you and it's not fun to decide what to give up. Especially when one of the things you have to give up is your career.

I moved several times within my own country, until we abruptly moved to Mexico. This move was practically rushed and each of us could only take two suitcases.

There are events that you can plan for and control perfectly. However, there are things that just happen, shake you up and challenge you. I have already had many situations that have cornered me to bring out the best in me. I have been amazed with the level of energy and creativity I never thought I had.

After that move to Mexico, there were three more moves to come, but we didn't know it. The next move would be to Bogota in Colombia, then we would move to Houston and the last move was back to Bogota.

With each move, I would sell or donate belongings, but new items would also arrive. The challenges came in the form of finding a new house, a new school, learning different customs and vocabulary, trying new foods and interacting with new neighbors and friends.

The hardest part was saying goodbye to new friendships, new customs that you had learned to respect, and above all, the thought of starting from scratch in a new place.

In my first move, I relied on my new friends to help me learn the customs of my new community. I realized that I didn't have many objects that reminded me of my native country. I didn't have family photos and I didn't know how to cook many of the typical dishes of my homeland.

In the second move, to Colombia, I discovered the magic of having professional companies wrap every piece of furniture and every small object so that they would not break. As for the collection of objects that reminded me of my country, it was growing and so was my ability to cook typical dishes.

On the third move, we added a pet and learned the requirements of taking it on an international flight. Our strategies to prepare for the move were now more professional. This time, we had already selected options for the new house and school.

Finally, by the last move we were all professionals in every way. We had moved three times in seven years.

We ended the moves full of anecdotes, stories and lessons learned. Furniture can be sold or exchanged, but from an adventure called moving, the experiences and friends are the greatest reward.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Hi! moving is a big job, one is totally exhausted, I have only moved from one city to another, moving from one country to another is twice as much work!!!!!!!!!!!
But in the pictures you both look very happy, all for a better future and to improve the quality of life.
Remember to check out all the communities on Hive, you are sure to find the perfect niche for your posts, music, movies, cooking, sports, there is everything on hive. Check out the OCD Incubation Program communities, and post wherever you feel comfortable and have fun.

Congratulations @betsycoach! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 200 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing the Hive Power Up Month - Let's grow every day!
Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

Yo en este momento estoy en ese proceso, llevo meses es eso, se que en el fondo no me quiero mudar, pero debo hacerlo, son un montón de sentimientos los que me invaden, cada vez que meto algo en una caja me llego de nostalgia, tal vez deba ver esto mas como una nueva experiencia y no como una perdida.