[ENG / ESP] My drawing of The spooky avatars gang

in Cervantes2 years ago

Hello everyone! Crimson Fox greets you again and I give you my warmest welcome to a new post, this time to show you a drawing in which I worked for a long time, with which I learned some digital drawing techniques that have been quite useful, one that I did before the Christmas drawing but had not shared it here, the idea was to have it ready for late October, however, in the end, I finished it in December ... But well, these things happen, so without further ado, let's start.

¡Muy buenas a todos!, les saluda nuevamente Crimson Fox y les doy mi más cordial bienvenida a un nuevo post, esta vez para mostrarles un dibujo en el que trabajé bastante tiempo, con el que aprendí algunas técnicas de dibujo en digital que me han sido bastante útiles, uno que de hecho hice antes que el dibujo de navidad pero no lo había compartido por aquí, la idea era tenerlo listo para finales de octubre , no obstante al final lo terminé en diciembre… Pero bueno, son cosas que pasan, así que sin más dilación, empecemos.

hh_hd_.png
image.png

The conceptual idea was quite simple "The characters/avatars/figures that some friends use the most but done in a spooky style", so yes, another drawing with several characters, which is equal to more work, but as far as drawings are concerned until I don't fulfill my artistic whims I'm not happy, as masochistic as it may sound.

I searched quite a few reference images on Pinterest to base myself on, as I wanted to do something quite personalized I needed a good base and inspiration to do a good job.

────────────❮ESP❯────────────

La idea conceptual era bastante simple “Los personajes/avatares/figuras que más usan unos amigos pero hechos con un estilo spooky”, así que sí, otro dibujo con varios personajes, lo que es igual a más trabajo, pero en lo que a dibujos respecta hasta que no cumpla mis caprichos artísticos no quedo contento, por más masoquista que llegue a sonar.
Busqué bastantes imágenes referenciales en pinterest en las cuales basarme, como quería hacer algo bastante personalizado necesitaba una buena base e inspiración para hacer un buen trabajo.

Crimson (Based on: Mythical fox).

image.png

DLRS (Based on: Guy-Manuel).

image.png

B Link (Based on: Zelda, okno, Dark Link).

image.png

Zhero (Based on: Sung Jinwoo and a Fire Emblem mage).

image.png

After getting the images, I located the figure of the characters in space, their poses, and more or less the idea of what I wanted to do, so I started at the beginning, the skeleton.

────────────────────────

Después de haber conseguido las imágenes, ubiqué la figura de los personajes en el espacio, sus poses, y más o menos la idea de lo que quería hacer, así que comencé por el principio, el esqueleto

image.png

Then I continued building the body of the characters, I still have a lot (quite a lot) to learn about anatomy, it's not one of my best works in that section but I feel proud of the hands I drew.

────────────────────────

Después seguí construyendo el cuerpo de los personajes, aún me queda mucho (bastante) que aprender de anatomía, no es de mis mejores trabajos en cuanto a ese apartado pero me siento orgulloso de las manos que dibujé.

image.png

Now I followed the fun in terms of physical drawing, drawing the features, the clothes, and some details in the characters based mostly on the references I had gotten so that Link and Guy-Manuel were the most complicated to draw due to the number of details they had in their clothes.

But now that I look back on it, luckily I managed to correctly mark what I wanted to highlight in each one since until I did the digital drawing I wasn't sure how I was going to represent several things, I'm glad I did it.

────────────────────────

Ahora seguía lo divertido en cuanto al dibujo en físico, dibujar los rasgos, las vestimentas, y algunos detalles en los personajes basándome mayormente en las referencias que había conseguido, de manera en que el Link y Guy-Manuel fueron los más complicados de dibujar debido a la cantidad de detalles que llevaban en su vestimenta.

Pero ahora que lo veo en retrospectiva, por suerte logré marcar correctamente lo que quería que destacara en cada uno, ya que hasta que hice el dibujo en digital no estaba seguro de cómo iba a representar varias cosas, me alegro por haberlo logrado.

image.png

And with the physical drawing finished, I had to start with the later but most magical process of all, the digital drawing.
I took a picture of the drawing with the best quality I could, transferred it to the laptop, mounted it in the drawing program I use, took out the mouse, and it was time to start playing.

────────────────────────

Y ya con el dibujo en físico terminado, había que empezar con el proceso más tardío pero el más mágico de todo, el dibujo en digital.

Le tomé foto al dibujo con la mejor calidad que pude, lo pasé a la laptop, lo monté en el programa de dibujo que uso, saqué el mouse, y era hora de empezar a jugar.

image.png

As always I started with the most tedious part, the line art, I went over the characters as best as possible and tried to fix several things in the process, I'm more in favor of not doing so much black line art (unless you know how to use it well), but taking into account the amount of time I had, I only traced some parts with other colors, and I think that in the end the effect was achieved quite well.

────────────────────────

Como siempre se empezaba por lo más tedioso, el line art, repasé lo mejor posible a los personajes y traté de arreglar varias cosas en el proceso, soy más partidario de no hacer tanto el line art negro (a menos de que lo sepas usar bien), pero tomando en cuenta la cantidad de tiempo con la que contaba, sólo tracé algunas partes con otros colores, y creo que al final el efecto se logró bastante bien.

image.png

After this, I followed the coloring, for the first time I don't know if I enjoyed this stage or the effects, this due to the way I selected and distributed the colors, because although with Link and Guy-Manuel I already had an idea of the colors to use, with my avatar and Zhero's it wasn't like that, and to see which colors and palettes were better was a fun time.

As an extra curiosity, my avatar was the one that had the most changes of color palette, before reaching this stage I had absolutely nothing in mind besides the red details.

────────────────────────

Tras esto seguía el coloreado, por primera vez realmente no sé si disfruté más esta etapa o la de efectos, esto debido a la forma en la que seleccionaba y distribuía los colores, pues pese a que con Link y Guy-Manuel ya tenía una idea de los colores a utilizar, con mi avatar y el de Zhero pues no era tan así, y ver cuáles colores y paletas quedaban mejor fue un rato entretenido.

Como curiosidad extra, mi avatar fue el que tuvo más cambios de paleta de colores, antes de llegar a esta etapa no tenía absolutamente nada pensado además de los detalles rojos.

image.png

Then followed the shading and lighting effects, which took some work, it was fun but I don't have much to comment about this part other than the most complicated part was getting the right effect on some parts of the clothes (I'm looking at you, Link).

I always say that the shading and lighting effects give life to the drawing, here is also the case, but there is a part of them that took the limelight, or at least for me, I'll talk about it.

────────────────────────

Después seguía el sombreado y los efectos de luces, los cuales llevaron su trabajo, fue divertido pero no tengo mucho que comentar en la primera parte más allá de que lo más complicado era lograr el efecto adecuado en algunas partes de la ropa (te estoy viendo a ti, Link).

Siempre digo que el sombreado y los efectos de luces dotan de vida al dibujo, aquí también es el caso, pero hay una parte de ellos que se llevó el protagonismo, o al menos para mí, ya hablaré de ella.

image.png

Now let's go to my favorite part of the drawing process. While I was trying tools to achieve an effect that had occurred to me, I found one that turned out to be excellent to illuminate and make flames (in my case), when I found it I felt a satisfaction that you can't imagine, and of course, I gave it as good use as I could, becoming an indispensable part of the essence of the drawing.

────────────────────────

Ahora vamos con mi parte favorita del proceso del dibujo. Mientras probaba herramientas para lograr un efecto que se me había ocurrido, encontré una que resultó ser excelente para iluminar y hacer flamas (en mi caso), cuando la encontré sentí una satisfacción que no se imaginan, y por supuesto le di tan buen uso como pude, volviéndose parte indispensable de la esencia del dibujo.

image.png

Having finished with the characters I continued with the background, I wanted to do something simple, a background with a depth effect, marking the lights produced by the characters to give the effect of darkness in the rest of the drawing later.

────────────────────────

Ya habiendo terminado con los personajes continué con el fondo, quería hacer algo simple, un fondo con efecto de profundidad, marcando las luces producidas por los personajes para dar el efecto de oscuridad en el resto del dibujo más adelante.

image.png

And the last step was to use the air brusher with low opacity for a whole layer as if it were a filter, without touching the light sources, and for the edges, I gave the effect of blood to support the spooky atmosphere, and in fact, it can even simulate a haunted photo covered with blood, hehehehehehehe.

────────────────────────

Y ya el último paso fue usar el air brusher con baja opacidad por toda una capa como si fuera un filtro, sin que tocara las fuentes de luz, y para los bordes di el efecto de sangre para apoyar la ambientación spooky, y de hecho puede hasta simular una foto embrujada cubierta de sangre, jejejejeje.

hh_hd_.png

And now, that would be all, the truth is that I simplified the process to not go into so much detail, but it was a job that took me a long time to finish, mostly because of my limited free time at that time, but without a doubt, this was one of the drawings I enjoyed the most, and one of the ones I feel most proud of to date.

Y ya, eso sería todo, la verdad simplifiqué bastante el proceso para no entrar tanto en detalles, pero fue un trabajo que me tomó un buen tiempo concluir, más que todo por mi contado tiempo libre en ese momento, pero sin duda éste fue uno de los dibujos que más me gustó realizar, y uno de los que me siento más orgulloso hasta la fecha.

And well, that's all for my part, I really would have liked to have finished it and shared it on Halloween but I couldn't, no need to be depressed about it. You are free to leave me your opinions and tips in the comments, also vote for the post to support me, also don't forget to follow me if you don't want to miss similar content that I will upload in the future. With all that said, see you in the next post.

Y bueno, eso ha sido todo por mi parte, realmente me hubiera gustado haberlo terminado y compartido en Halloween pero no se pudo, no hay que deprimirse por eso. Son libres de dejarme sus opiniones y consejos en los comentarios, también de votar el post para apoyarme, tampoco se olviden de seguirme si no quieren perderse de contenido similar que suba en un futuro. Ya con todo eso dicho, nos vemos en el siguiente post.

banner_cf_2.png

  • Drawings made in Krita (digital painting software) by me.
  • Farewell image and subtitle made in canva (photo editing and presentation tool) by me.
  • Translated in Spanish to English with DeepL translator.
  • Avatars of DLRS and B Link made in Picrew.