You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive vs Steem Stats - May 5, 2020

Hey, @penguinpablo.

So, there's plenty to look at dissect here, so great job as always. I'm glad I came across this post now since it seems to be only the second one in the series.

What I'm wondering about is this particular graph.

Screen Shot 2020-05-05 at 9.10.36 AM.png

I was trying to match it up with the others, but can't quite figure out what the accounts on STEEM are doing at such a higher rate. Posts, comments and upvotes, and the other transactions all seem to be closer between STEEM and HIVE, so could that be more like people playing Splinterlands or something like that causing it, since some of those games are yet to port over?

Sort:  

I made a chart of the number of accounts that voted at least once.

image.png

It's almost exactly the same as the total accounts transacting. The only difference is that the numbers are a bit lower.

image.png

Conclusion: Almost all active accounts are at least active voters.

Note: A 'transacting account' is an account that made at least one of these transactions: a vote, post, comment, transfer, power up or HBD conversion. Splinterlands users transact on the blockchain by a 'custom_json' transaction. These are not included in my calculations.

Hey, @penguinpablo.

Well, okay. As you say, definitely looks like that other graph, only lower. And right, I should have remembered that part about the custom_json. Okay. Are you still thinking bots, though?

Aren't those account performing power down and transferring steem out to exchange? Also selling SBD for steem to transfer it out? Are those included in this graph?

Hey, @m-san.

Not sure if you were wanting me to answer this or @penguinpablo, yes, though he doesn't seem to list power downs, just power ups, based on his answer here:

Note: A 'transacting account' is an account that made at least one of these transactions: a vote, post, comment, transfer, power up or HBD conversion.

So, as far as STEEM is concerned, the same would apply to those. I guess we'll need clarification on the power downs.

That is a good question.
Maybe many voting bots on Steem that only do a small number of votes per day? I'm going to find out tomorrow.

Cool. I'll check back.

re: voting bots

It's funny, but my mind immediately went to bots of some sort, too, but then I couldn't figure out what they were doing. I guess staying under the radar would be important if they are bots, so doing a little each day makes sense, but it kind of runs counter to what bots are normally used for (lots of automated transactions).

Might the difference be Splinterlands-related?

Edited: Duh, Glen already asked that.