You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some cloudflare stats for hive.blog

in Hive Statistics3 years ago

Thanks for sharing 👍 I guess this is just the number of total page views? It's regrettable that key metrics are missing to analyze and compare with Similarweb or Alexa statistics such as number of unique visitors, average page view per visitor, average time spent per visitor, traffic source, bounce rate...


1.png
https://www.similarweb.com/website/hive.blog

3.png
https://www.similarweb.com/website/hive.blog


I'm surprised by the data for France (5.2M) and Thailand (3.1M), at the 12th and 20th position on your list, where communities are quite small. I really think you should consider the question of using ISO 639-2 language as I had suggested in the "General" of MM.

Sort:  

Data from Alexa isn't great, because it's a sampling method, and there's a lot of bias in the way it samples, in my opinion. I don't know what similarweb uses for its data, so can't comment on that.

Size of communities isn't necessarily the main driver for overall traffic. It's likely a reasonable amount of this traffic comes from organic search, and most posts on Hive are written in English, so it's not surprising that countries where English is a primary language tend to rank well.

Yep and Similarweb operate mainly with the same data usage, just some differences in the result, that's why, if we can have real data we can make a better analysis.

Yes, that's why I didn't expect so much for France and Thailand, especially since the page headers are defined for English (lang & hreflang html tags) which doesn't help the seo on google's geolocalized search engines (ex: google.fr, google.co.th).

Now I'll be curious to see if @asgarth and @good-karma will follow you in making a post about peakd and ecency data 😂

France's numbers seem inline with other EU countries, so seems normal to me. I think Thailand may be high in part because I think it has many English expats there.

You know how we French have difficulties with English, much more than any other country in the EU, because of our "cultural exception" 🤣 For Thailand, with the development of digital nomadism there are more expats but I don't know the recent numbers of how many we are.