You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rainy Wrocław is my favourite Wrocław

in Polish HIVE4 years ago

I am not sure where or who started it. But I see it on many bridges in different countries.
Coupes usually engrave their names or initials on them and lock them on the bridge (I dunno if any bridge will do, or just some special ones). It is supposed represent forever lasting love I think...
Quite interesting thing to see.

Sort:  

Thank you for the reply! It is definitely very interesting to see, and it has really piqued my curiosity. I think I'm going to have to dive into this rabbit hole...

That rabbit hole wasn't as deep as I expected. Here's an excerpt from an article I found here

"...the love lock tradition didn’t even start in Paris — it started in a town called Vrnjačka Banja in Serbia. There, shortly before the First World War, a young man and woman fell in love, and would meet every night at the Most Ljubavi bridge in town. But the man went into the military, and while abroad, he met and fell in love with someone else. The young woman died of heartbreak, and superstitious local women began going to the bridge, writing the names of themselves and their lovers on padlocks, and locking them to the bridge, in the hope that it would bind their paramours to home."