HiveBloPoMo Day 21: A Definitely BUSY... but Possibly SUBLIME Sunday!

in HiveBloPoMo2 years ago

And so, we reach day 21 of HiveBloPoMo, meaning that we are now three weeks in. Since I have already "broken" the daily routine, I'm now just doing this for fun!

You can read more about HiveBloPoMo here, if you feel so inclined.

Today's writing prompt is "Do a #SublimeSunday post." So I'll try to follow through with a bit of a journal post about this day!

0413-Holly.jpg

When Lives Change...

A friend of ours came by, today.

That's a massive understatement. A friend of ours came by today, and deposited half her life in our garage, because she's heading out into the world to make the world a better place. Normally you'd think of such words in connection with an aspiring youngster, but our friend is actually on the "north side" of 60 years of age.

Except for what now lives under a tarp in our garage, she has downsized her life to a suitcase, two duffle bags and three of those plastic tote/tubs people often use when they move.

In a few weeks, she head to the Dominican Republic for an entirely new life... going from established physician in a swank Seattle suburb, to help set up ecovillages, teach the basics of renewable energy and health in remote and inaccessible areas of this Caribbean island nation.

0413-SunsetHills.jpg

Courage? Insanity? Some of Both?

Talk about "changing your life!" Whereas I am not sure something like that would be my choice as I approach my retirement years, I do admire her courage...

I suppose my feelings about it are also different because I don't have a stout investment portfolio to fall back on if "it doesn't work out."

But perhaps our attitudes are also colored by our experiences: Some people seem to be blessed with reliable parachutes when they take leaps of faith; others repeatedly experience brutal and bone-breaking landings, causing them to shy away from trying again.

Alas, I have typically fallen in that second category... giving rise to my skepticism.

0413-Smudge.jpg

New Family Member...

Meanwhile, aside from dropping off her most prized belongings for storage here, we also gained a new family member in the form of Smudge, the cat, (pictured above) who's getting up in years and would likely not survive an international plane trip and living in the tropics under "dubious" conditions.

It's tough to part with our fur friends... particularly when they have been around for many years. I know this well, from experience, having said goodbye to a couple of cats in a divorce.

It's odd how these furry creatures can capture our hearts and sometimes are harder to part with than most of the humans we know.

Hopefully, we can offer Smudge a safe and loving home for the remainder of her days...

0038-Maple.jpg

And Then, Thanksgiving...

On Thursday, it will be Thanksgiving, here in the USA.

Being from Denmark, I didn't grow up with Thanksgiving. Not that Danes aren't thankful, our history just didn't involve coming from far, far away and surviving another year.

In the years I have lived in this country, I have come to enjoy Thanksgiving. I guess, mostly the underlying reason (gratitude) more than the explosion of food and subsequent monster shopping spree. Although I do love a good turkey dinner!

Still... there is much to be grateful for, even in these strange times. Perhaps we overlook that, sometimes... because it seems like there are so many things we can readily complain about.

I'd rather not. It's not a vibe I want to sit in...

Thanks for stopping by, and have a great week ahead!

How about YOU? How has your weekend been? Was it actually "sublime?" Will you be having a Thanksgiving celebration next Thursday? Comments, feedback and other interaction is invited and welcomed! Because — after all — SOCIAL content is about interacting, right? Leave a comment — share your experiences — be part of the conversation!

HivePanda.gif


(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly and uniquely for this platform — NOT cross posted anywhere else!)
Created at 20211121 22:05 PDT

0413/1657

Sort:  

I am sorry but if she does have a stout investment portfolio to fall back on if "it doesn't work out" then why doesnt see put the stuff in storage and spare you the burden?

Because everyone loves saving money. ;)

Well I like to save money as much if not more than anyone, but certainly not on the backs of others. Sheesh some people. 🙂

I wonder if any non-American person celebrates Thanksgiving. And why would they actually?
Since it is not our holiday I don't even remember about until everyone talks about it :)

Glad to see new furry member arriving safely. She doesn't look too happy though. And I don't blame her.

Funny I was just talking to someone about this. I wonder why not more countries celebrate Thanksgiving? Sure you dont have the pilgrim/Indian story, but it is more than that. To me Thanksgiving is simply being thankful (non religious) for a harvest that allows us to live.

It is not in our tradition and I think most of those holidays are based on historical (or religious) events.
We (and generally people not celebrating it) could do it I guess. But if so then when? Who would set the date and why this date and not other. It is the same way people don't celebrate any other holidays specific for other countries I guess :)

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Kudos to her! It is better than wasting away in a rocking chair. If she has no spouse, she may get great satisfaction out of helping others. Besides, that kind of do good activity keeps you young.

I applaud her and I hope it all works out for her.

Happy Thanksgiving @denmarkguy I'm in it purely for Turkey! Just kidding! It's really the stuffing!