Development Idea: Super-Sized Upvotes

image.png

Image source

Life gets in the way of curating Hive posts quite often. It's a pity and a loss that voting power can be left unused simply because one does not have time to curate.

I know vote automation is a solution many use for that purpose. But that solution has many downsides. While it may have a detrimental effect on post quality over a long period of time, I think that aspect is somewhat exaggerated. Most users who have a lot of auto-votes set on their posts usually refrain from abusing auto-votes by shitposting out of respect for their audiences and also out of a fear of losing their auto-votes. Also, those who have many auto-votes on their posts have earned them through a lot of engagement and relationship building over the years.

But auto-votes are an inadequate solution to the problem. What I suggest is allowing the use of all of one's remaining voting power on a single vote. It would allow for super-sized rewards on a particularly high-value post. As it stands, there is no way to reward a post that has taken a particularly large amount of time and resources to make. Also, the ability to drop larger than usual votes would save time. I don't think front ends should offer it as something that could be set as the default choice, however. Such votes should be used only on deserving posts.

What do you think? How much developer time would implementing this require? Is there enough time to include it in the changes coming up in the next hard fork?

Sort:  

I’ve thought about this also. Like being powered up 100% and seeing like the most important or time invested post in months and I’m like I’d love to vote with everything all my power on this one post. Or a part of it but yes I’m with ya in this. If abused the vote power will drain same as voting many times but instead it’s just one vote. I am down for this indeed.