You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should The Global Content Reward Pool Be Done Away With?

It's interesting to think of content creation as a Fetter on Hive's development for sure.

I just don't feel we're quite 'there yet' with being able to offer anything other than blogging as a working selling-point.

This proposal is maybe one for a few years down the line?

It wouldn't surprise me if it happens though, as it would mean more Hive being sucked upwards and less for the bottoms and middle.

Sort:  

It's interesting to think of content creation as a Fetter on Hive's development for sure.

Yeah, until you remember that old content has value, too, but that it is very hard for anyone to access.

I just don't feel we're quite 'there yet' with being able to offer anything other than blogging as a working selling-point.

Well, there is Splinterlands and other games.

This proposal is maybe one for a few years down the line?

The total inflation is decreasing by half a percentage point per year.

It wouldn't surprise me if it happens though, as it would mean more Hive being sucked upwards and less for the bottoms and middle.

Yes. I think that's the only reason Wolfie proposed this.

I think what we need is a more effective way to access good content.

Fair point on the accessibility - but we do have side chains with their own front ends now, which still publish to Hive.

I'm not in favour of getting rid of pure Hive blogging, I think it's a real pull.

I was taking account of Splinterlands, it's thousands, not tens of thousands, then what's next? I don't think there are any other games that have brought more than 1000 users to Hive? No where near that.

Fair point on the accessibility - but we do have side chains with their own front ends now, which still publish to Hive.

They suffer from the exact same problem: poor accessibility of old content.

I'm not in favour of getting rid of pure Hive blogging, I think it's a real pull.

It would be premature.

I was taking account of Splinterlands, it's thousands, not tens of thousands, then what's next? I don't think there are any other games that have brought more than 1000 users to Hive? No where near that.

That is unfortunately true. But I think with gradually improving every aspect of the user experience we can achieve results eventually.