Third Reich Proof Coins

IMG_1639.jpg

It's been a while since my last post. But now I've finally found some time to sit down and write about silver and coins again. This time I'll show you some coins which I haven't seen on any of the big social media platforms. I'm talking about Third Reich Proof coins. Over the last couple of years I picked up many coins, but proof coins of the Third Reich were always of special interest to me.

They tell a tale from a time which haunts modern Germany to this day. Always reminding people not to repeat their past mistakes. A message which is getting even more important nowadays, 80 years after all that insanity. But I won't bore you with any more politics. I guess you're here to see shiny proof coins and learn something about them ;).

This time I'm actually not using any of my own pictures. Because it's a pain in the a** to get good pictures through the slab. So I'll show you some nice PCGS/NGC images. All of the coins are 900 Silver coins and either 2 or 5 reichsmark.

Mint Mark F (Stuttgart) PCGS Certificate


5 reichsmark garrison church

This coin commemorates the one year anniversary of the Reichstag (the parliament of the Weimar Republic) which moved to the Potsdam Garrison Church after the arson of the original parliament by a communist. The NSDAP abused this to push laws that removed many fundamental rights and allowed the NSDAP to arrest anybody without reason. Just cause you know, big bad evil communists.
So pretty much within one year of Hitler's inauguration, the democratic Weimar Republic was gone.

The coin itself is actually pretty hard to get in high grades. The wide-open fields are very prone to scratches, which you can see abundantly on the coin itself. I picked up two more (a five and two Mark coin) which are in better shape scratch wise but have much lower contrast.
I'll have to keep my eyes open for nicer examples of this coin.

Mint Mark A(Berlin) PCGS Certificate

5 reichsmark Hindenburg w/o Swastika

This coin shows Paul von Hindenburg and is the most common 5 Reichsmark coin. This early version still used the Weimar Eagle and no Nazi symbolism Only the font was replaced from a friendly Latin script to the more martial "german type". This coin shows some heavy toning, which is actually kinda appealing in real life. Aside from those weird toning spots/lines around the eagle.

Mint Mark A(Berlin) PCGS Certificate

2 reichsmark Hindenburg with Swastika

Same design as the coin above, but now with the new third reich eagle. I'm still looking for a decent 5 reichsmark proof coin, but haven't found one yet.

Mint Mark F(Stuttgart) NGCCertificate

2 Reichsmark Friedrich Schiller

There's not much to tell about this one. I picked it up at an auction, and it's commemorating the 175th birthday of the German poet Friedrich Schiller.

So long, that's my collection of third reich or "Nazi" Proof Coins

Sort:  

Very unique to find these in proof condition, thanks for sharing my friend!😀

That's history in your hands!

Beautiful pieces! Thanks for the show.
Have a great day, and stack on 🥰🌺🤙