You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Gram of Silver worth $1 USD : Time to Re-Peg the HBD?

Well, at the end it would just be a renaming, without any significance. You can call it Hive Gold or Hive Silver or Hive Oreo - it does not influence its value. Nor does it stabilize it, like in a bullion based currency.
The safest option is still to have real bullion. You wont get rich over night with it, but it always has its value in purchasing power. Just look where gold/silver prices are today - only 2 years ago most people didn't think it would be possible.

Sort:  

The significance is in a year or 2 when 1 gram of Silver is worth $2 and our HBD either holds that value or drops with the US Dollar.

Well, thats the thing - we usually look at it the wrong way. 1 gram of silver is not worth $1 now, its the other way around. That may sound silly, but it isn't. Because the real constant is silver, gold ect., not the dollar. Nor Hive or any other crypto, for that matter. As I said, those are fiat currencies: 1 Hive has not more intrinsic value than a BTC - and thats none. They only have value because people believe that they do. A pretty smart guy once said: trading cryptos is about finding a greater fool than you are yourself. :)
1 gram of metal, on the other hand, is still 1 gram of metal - in 2 years, or 20 or 2000 years. And it still has value. At least it was that way since the humans know it.

You sound like a fellow stacker. You should join our community discord HERE

Thanks for the offer, but I like to keep a low profile about that stuff. You never know who is listening.... ;)

Fair enough. That's why I use an alias. I don't think anyone in the SGS community knows my real name :)

Hi Matt 👋

🤣 just took a guess 🪙

What the heck! I haven’t seen u pop up in my feed in forever! I thought u dropped off. I see you have been posting! I’ll swing by more often!