2.5oz Silver Mewtwo Poured Silver

In 1999, Burger King released a set of six, 23K gold-plated Pokémon "cards" that could be displayed in plastic Poké Balls. This was during a time when Pokémon saw explosive fan growth. Even Taco Bell was offering Pokémon beanie babies in their kids meals.

Here's a picture of what the whole set of cards looks like.
(Source)

I came across a gentleman by the name of Sullivan Silvers on Instagram. He does customer silver pours. He had purchased a set of these cards and used them to create detailed molds.

Here's a short video of the whole set:
https://www.instagram.com/reel/C5TU1C7retj/?igsh=dmhiaTd2cWE3b3I=

Obverse

I'm assuming the molds and pours were done with sand casting. Regardless of the method, I'm impressed with the level of detail he was able to capture. Mewtwo was the most sought after from the set and my favorite, so I had to get it. At some point, I'll try and get the Charizard if he's still making them.

Reverse

Even the back text is impressively clear on this pour. It says, "It was created by a scientist after years of horrific gene splicing and DNA engineering experiments." Mewtwo is one of the most powerful Pokémon in existence due to the manner in which it was created.

Specifications
Purity: .999
Weight: 2.5 Troy ounces

For the life of me, I can't remember what I paid for this. If I had to guess, it was probably around $150. Poured pieces generally have a higher premium due to the amount of work that goes into them. This is a piece I'd never sell and will end up passing down to my kids. It's worth every penny! 😁


Do you like stacking gold and silver?

Are you new to Hive, or know someone new to Hive, and want help and support?

Have you been on Hive for a while and want to help new Hive members? Join HOC and help us grow Hive and encourage new members!

Sort:  

!hiqvote

@bulliontools, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (1/3) and will start the voting trail.

In addition, @bulliontools gets !PIZZA from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
hiq.smartbot tipped bulliontools
bulliontools tipped dbooster
@willendorfia(1/15) tipped @bulliontools

Dang. I need to look these up. My kids would love this one!!

You received an upvote of 34% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!

Those are sick I love the pours and the gold plated McDonald's ones look pretty cool plating is lame but hey it's a McDonald's lucky to even get that

Yeah, as a kid I didn't realize it was just plated, but it's cool to at least have it in silver for the nostalgia. 😁

!BBH

@bitcoinman! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bulliontools. (4/20)

Congratulations @bulliontools! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 3500 comments.
Your next target is to reach 4000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Unveiling the BuzzParty Meetup 2024 Badge

I'm wondering where my kids put their Pokemon car collection.

If you can find it, it's probably worth a decent amount of money, especially if they're from the older series.

!BBH

@kerrislravenhill! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bulliontools. (8/20)

Silver cards of Pokemon, bro you're reliving your childhood! 😄😄
Sending you Love and Ecency Vote!

Haha, right? I also have a silver Blue-Eyes White Dragon Yu-Gi-Oh card as well!

!LOL
!BBH

Thanks so much! 😁

@untilwelearn! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bulliontools. (9/20)

I can never take my dog to the park because the ducks keep trying to bite him.
I guess that’s what I get for buying a pure bread dog.

Credit: reddit
@untilwelearn, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of bulliontools

(2/4)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

Wow, that is impressive that the text is actually readable. I never would have thought that would be the case! I never really got into Pokemon. I think I was a little too old by the time it took hold in the US.

Right? I'm guessing it took quite a few attempts to get the impression and the mold just right.

I hear you. A lot of it all depends on where you're at when they come out. I can't really get into Bakugan and some of these other shows my nephew watches, but he's grown up with them.

For sure! My nephew was really into Pokemon. I remember when I was a kid Robotech started airing on the Fox network. It was the first anime I had ever seen an it was so unlike all of the other cartoons that were on at the time.

That's awesome. My kids both love Pokemon so I know that one (it's Myūtsū in Japanese). That'd be cool to have.

Pokémon seems to be one of those franchises that has maintained popularity across multiple generations. It's pretty impressive.

I don't know what shipping would look like, but it may be worth looking into for a Christmas present. 😁

!BBH
!PIZZA

@dbooster! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bulliontools. (10/20)

That's a nice pour! That is really cool, and if you were to sell it you could probably find a Pokemon collector that would pay a fortune for it!
!BBH

@bulliontools! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @thebighigg. (6/50)

Thanks! True, Pokémon collectors would likely pay a whole lot more for it. 😁

!BBH

@thebighigg! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bulliontools. (12/20)

As someone who actually played Pokemon when this craze was going on (I wouldn't even have had the option if a friend hadn't worked at Target and was willing to stash some packs away the moment they came in so that I could buy them later), I'm still kicking myself for not collecting those BK cards. But this is an incredibly cool homage to them! There seems to be no end to the neat creations these silver pourers can manage to make.

!PIMP
!PIZZA

Same here! I actually had a deck go 60 wins before I had a single loss! 😁

I still have a Snorlax beanie baby in a tote somewhere, to give to my kids at some point. !LOL

Yeah the creativity is awesome!

!BBH

@willendorfia! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bulliontools. (1/20)

What do you call a house made of feathers?
A lite house.

Credit: reddit
@willendorfia, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of bulliontools

(3/4)
NEW: Join LOLZ's Daily Earn and Burn Contest and win $LOLZ


You must be killin' it out here!
@willendorfia just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @bulliontools.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/2 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

Pokemon!
I remember playing pokemon!

Good times, right? 😁

!BBH

@silversaver888! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bulliontools. (2/20)

OMG this is SO cool, I don't even play Pokemon lol but I even love it :)

!LUV

bulliontools, thisismylife sent you LUV. 🙂 (5/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Thanks! The creativity of silver pourers never ceases to amaze me! 😁

!BBH

@thisismylife! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bulliontools. (9/20)

no way you have silver from pokemon omg
haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
untitled.gif

!LOL, right? I couldn't say no. 😁

!BBH

@pirulito.zoado! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bulliontools. (3/20)

Where do bad rainbows go?
Prism, it's a light sentence.

Credit: reddit
@pirulito.zoado, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of bulliontools

(1/4)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

It's interesting because Mewtwo at the time was considered the strongest Pokemon in the franchise and you having him like that must have been a fantastic moment 🤓