VINTAGE SILVER PENDANT OF VIRGIN MARY GOTHIC STYLE

HAPPY NIGHT TO ALL LOVERS OF GOLD AND SILVER

IMG_20240521_093601.jpg

Here I am back on #silvergoldstackers with a new post where I show a vintage silver pendant that belonged to an aunt and then she gave it to my mom and she gave it to me

IMG_20240521_093629.jpg

This Italian silver piece is from the 80s or 70s from what my mom tells me, maybe a little before these dates, which has the Virgin Mary and Jesus in a very detailed Gothic style

IMG_20240521_095625.jpg

I have had this piece in my hands for a long time but I had not made a post about it.

I hope you like this beautiful piece of #silver then I'll come back when I get new silver things to show in the community, I wish you all a good night

ass.png
INSTAGRAM https://www.instagram.com/damoclesart92/
INSTAGRAM HORROR ART: https://www.instagram.com/damocleshorror/
TWITTER https://twitter.com/damoclesart

Sort:  

I love the Virgin Mary, and I love that pendant!
Usually, if a piece is silver, it is marked with the fineness!

image.png

!LUV

Yes, that is correct in most silver pieces :)

It's one of the first markings I look for on any silver piece.
Hallmarking is a coding system that identifies the maker, purity, and the year it was made.
With bullion coins ,it's under a ISO 9000 standard.

If that is correct, what's more, there are two pieces of silver that I have that do not have a mark indicating that they are silver, which is this pendant and the Japanese ring about which I also made a post a few days ago, I had doubts about the pendant but I went to find out. They did a test on it and yes it is silver haha, it's strange that it doesn't have a brand that's why I hadn't made a post about it before until now :)

Full Hallmarking is traditionally practiced for hundreds of years in Europe when Craftsmen and the public established the system that guarantees the customer that the silver product is verifiably silver, the Maker's registered mark is credited in fashioning the silver product and with it his or her reputation.
Big Name jewelers, like BIRK's for instance, do continue that tradition to preserve their reputation for quality products to their niche customer base. Whereas many mass produced jewelry can be sold but a variety of companies have a minimal marking of '925'.
"Tea anyone?" 🍵