Dollar vs Half Dollar?

in Silver Gold Stackers13 days ago (edited)

The Canadian silver dollar and half dollar are probably the two most well known coins for collectors, especially “junk silver” collectors. The dollar is 80% silver and 20% copper, as is the half dollar. 3/5 of an ounce of silver, and 3/10 of an ounce respectively. I do like both coins. Question I have for you is, if you had to choose between one or the other, which would you find more desirable? Also would you pay more for a dollar than two half dollars, or not? One dollar has the same amount of silver as two half dollars right. I have found that some dealers add a bit of a premium for the dollars and some do not. Do share in the comments your opinions.



Camera: Huawei P40 Pro
Lens: Leica
Editing: Lightroom

Do you like Black and White photography? Do you like Colour photography? If you answered yes to both questions, then you are a perfect candidate for the “Colour / Black & White” photography community. Created specifically for that purpose. I will be personally curating qualifying posts. Join now.



Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

I'd say take two, makes you feel more the better and if you get a better price it makes more sense but if your a serious collector your probably buying all three no matter the price, well I mean that in paying a premium sometimes.

2 vs 1, same amount of silver in either one. Maybe having two is more versatile if you are bartering.

very nice i love the design from coin canada!
!PIZZA !BBH

@daveks! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @pirulito.zoado. (4/50)

Cool aren’t they!

I go with the color on these all the way! You just get the reflective surfaces a little more clearly. Nice silver, I don't have much Canadian silver. I keep meaning to pick some up but as of late I'm been buying in local shops and going with the best deal!

Understandable. Our own national coins always seem to be the best ones to stack.

Can I have both? We used peso coin here. No silver touch. 😁 @daveks

No dealio.

Hahaha. 2 half dollars make a little child smile compare to 1 dollar. 😁 @daveks

Either way they are both silver. Whichever you prefer. I love the canoe dollar though.

I agree, have a preference for the dollar.

That's pure mastery with the delicate design of the coin. I'll take two if it were me.

Yes, the canoe dollar is my favourite. Thanks for looking.

As I read, I would opt for 1, the metal is the same, I suppose the premium would not change either.
I wish you a happy start to the week

That makes sense. Thanks.

Would pay the same but the half is slightly more flexibility !BBH

@daveks! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bitcoinman. (7/50)

Yes, very true.

Excellent work on close-up photos!... Numismatics is a passionate hobby, my maternal grandfather loved collecting coins, I still have many inherited from him, but they are in boxes at my mother's house, I hope one of these days to organize them! .. Of these two that you present to us, I liked the one dollar one better with that fantastic engraving of the canoe on the obverse...

!discovery 40
!VSC
!PIZZA
!BBH

@jlinaresp has sent VSC to @daveks

This post was rewarded with 0.1 VSC to support your work.
Join our photography communityVisual Shots
Check here to view or trade VSC Tokens
Be part of our Curation Trail


@jlinaresp ha enviado VSC a @daveks

Éste post fue recompensado con 0.1 VSC para apoyar tu trabajo.
Únete a nuestra comunidad de fotografía Visual Shots
Consulte aquí para ver o intercambiar VSC Tokens
Se parte de nuestro Trail de Curación


Uses: 10/25

@daveks! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @jlinaresp. (2/5)


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our Community and follow our Curation Trail
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
jlinaresp tipped daveks
@pirulito.zoado(4/15) tipped @daveks

Color is coo

"Real bunsens is alwas' beautioos!" -Keptin

Congratulations @daveks! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024

While I have some numismatic Canadian coins I keep for the sake of collecting I have other silver coins I treat as fractional silver coinage for emergency commerce. I have a 1935 Uncirculated King George silver dollar left to me by my father I will keep and pass on to my children, At the same time I have a handful of 1939 Parliament silver dollars I can choose to spend or trade. The silver dollars may be slightly more accepted as emergency currency over the half dollar since the half dollar has hardly circulated for decades, even the nickel half rarely circulates. For a test I've tried to spend a 1984 half dollar to more times than not refused payment. The point I'm making is ...recognizability.