Can you keep a secret?

in Silver Gold Stackers11 months ago

My husband’s birthday is less than 2 weeks away.

A2D1045E-7A17-4D2B-99DC-C7B27344AF9B.jpeg

It’s Mr @dfinney! 😂

And a present he asked for (that might be of interest to the Hive stacking crew) showed up in the mail yesterday.


IMG_8513.gif

But first, a little back story…



Couples, (thruples 😂), partners, and friends generally have some shared hobbies. Common interests are part of what initially attracts people to one another. But within any relationship each person also has interests that are uniquely their own.

In my marriage, collecting silver coins, bars and rounds is my thing. Hubs will gift me silver at holidays and such, but has never been interested in getting his own. Until now…

This is his gift.

IMG_8503.jpeg

It is a Drew Brophy, one oz, colorized, .9999 silver surfboard coin! A product of Pamp Suisse, the coin has a limited mintage of just 3000. Each coin is engraved with a serial number and is legal tender in Niue!

IMG_8508.png

I wasn’t able to get our coin out of it’s box to get a photo of the back. This image is from the Pamp Suisse website. Look at the back of this! Palm trees, surf… it is so unique.

Drew Brophy is famous for his surf inspired art. He paints murals, fine art canvases, and actual surfboards! (This coin is a copy of a real surfboard he painted.)

Brophy first became well known in the 1990’s, when he created a new technique to paint his surfboards using Uni Posca Paint Pens. This technique allowed for more creativity and it changed the way surfboards were painted forever. Source

As many of you know, hubby is from Australia. Though he grew up inland from the sea, a love of all things #beachlifestyle runs through his veins. Hubs is a long time fan of Drew Brophy’s art. (We even visited Brophy’s gallery/studio in San Clemente, California on one of our vacations.) So the surfboard coin is the perfect start to my husband’s stack.

IMG_8512.jpeg

Husband in front of a Drew Brophy mural outside of the artist’s San Clemente studio.

While the premium on this coin is high, I was able to snag mine off of eBay. It was selling for $30 less than shown at Apmex and the other big online dealers. So that was a win.

IMG_8505.jpeg

A better photo of the front and back of the coin together. Source

This is just more proof that there is silver available for every taste! 😃


MG5aEqKFcQi6ksuzVh6JJptBJCL6eFwx2gvRnpcRhTRKgmTKc5WMfwDphWztqfSXypmCdjm9wXwVQk7duknYc884pRu4XJ62H.gif

IMG_5958.gif

team-australia-hive-badge-slim-beach-hive.blog-dfinney.png

image0.png

IMG_4852.png

Sort:  

You received an upvote of 100% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!

Mums the word @dfinney!!😇🤣
That’s the way to celebrate his Birthday, and get hubby hooked on Silver stacking!!!🤗
Maybe you should get a his and hers bar!😇😊
Double the stacking!

Getting a surf board bar sure takes ups less space than an actual surfboard. Maybe I should get two! 😂

I won’t tell Lol!😇
Wish your hubby a Happy Birthday from Liz and me!🤗😊🤗

Great present for a Narooma lad. Well played madam!

You'll have him jacked up with the Stackitis in no time.

Every once in awhile he sees something he likes. But so far it hasn’t been silver or gold. Like we did buy him a clad Wheetbix coin at the Mint in Canberra. 😄

I hope he likes it as much as we do!

Me too! Especially since he asked for it! 😄

Your husband will be thrilled with his unique, limited edition Drew Brophy silver surfboard! What number out of the 3000 is yours his? @dfinney🌊🏄‍♂️

I don’t know the number yet! When I tried to take the coin out of all the packaging it was too tightly pressed into the cutout made for it in the box! Not wanting to damage anything before the gift is presented… I put the package back in all the wrapping before I could see! 😄

Very nice! I am sure he will love it! Thanks for sharing and enjoy the surprise! 😊 !LADY

Thank you! And I hope you and @silvertop are enjoying his birthday today!

Thanks @dfinney! It was a wonderful day!

Wao, this is so nice and beautiful. It worth the price.

I hope so! And hopefully the collectibility of the coin goes up in the future.

Yeah, hopefully

Pretty cool!

Yeah, I think it will go over well. And it takes up very little space which makes me happy! 😄

That's a very cool coin... er..surfboard... coin surfboard!

I haven't read them in years, but when I was a kid I loved the silver surfer. This could be his surfboard!

Great gift!

!PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@dbooster just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @dfinney.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/3 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

This could be the surfboard of a very tiny silver surfer! 😄

Surf's up!

That is one cool penguin!

Happy birthday to him in advance

Thank you! 😃

Damn, that is a super cool coin. I love the graphics. Surf/skate stuff designs like this are awesome! He actually asked for that :D
Nice!
!PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@summertooth just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @dfinney.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/3 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

He actually asked for it. Well, it was more like “you could give this to me for my birthday”. 😂🤣

I am not even sure where he saw it.

Probably some “surf bois r us” website. 🤪

14dfaf5f76a2dfec6703532f60a8e3cf.jpg

Ooo, maybe I need to start checking out surf bois websites.

😂🤣

Maybe?
Screenshot_20230613_080540_Brave.jpg

Ummmm…. Now I definitely do not need to check surf bois websites. 😂🤣

Nice one Dfinn. But I’m calling him….

Argh!!!! 😂🤣

I was thinking the other day how amateur it was of me not to get a direct line to Jen. Now I can’t get any good blackmail/meme photos of you on the sly. 😄

Thats a great gift! Looks cool I'm sure he'll like it!

If he doesn’t like it I will just have to take one for the team and add it to my stack. 🤪

Way to go @dfinney ! Well, I suppose you are stacking with him? A silent partner in stacking? He has been wanting to stack, I bet you!
Did you notice that the surfer in Drew Brophy mural is a girl, hehehe!
Happy Advance Birthday, Mr@dfinney !
!LUV

Surfer girl power!

I feel like since he buys me silver sometimes that ads for silver now show up when he is surfing the web. So now hubs can’t get away from it! 😄

Hehehe... imagine if both you and he stacks. Like @elizabethbi and @silvertop!
No stopping now!!! 😄
Cross your fingers. 🤞

That's dope !! Lucky man

He’s been lucky since the day he got married! 😂🤣😃😄