You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 1st Piece of Silver in Circulation I've Seen in Over 15 Years!!

Ha! It's funny you mention that copper penny thing, I hoard any penny 1982 or lower, and weigh every 1983 penny seeing if it's a mistake copper one (those are worth over $100k and still several in circulation somewhere... a very unknown hidden gem in American currency). Thanks for sharing!

Sort:  

Do you have any idea who would be willing to buy a penny like that? I'm not a collector, and I'm pretty sure I have at least 3 of those.

No need to weigh to check, just flick it. The zinc pennies have no 'ring' at all.

Some of those have sold on Ebay to collectors in the past. Those 1983 copper ones are hella rare though for sure. Never thought to try the ping trick with copper, good advise!