My first post in the silver gold community

I've always been interested in coin collecting since I was a little kid. I started with the simple penny books and enjoyed the thrill of searching for and finding the ones I need. As I got a little bit older I had a really nice collection of older silver dollars and half dollars that I got from my grandma, alas that collection was stolen and I'm left now with only the bare bones of what I used to have. Despite all that I do have a few pieces left and some with interesting stories.

1965 Canadian Silver Dollar

coins4.jpg

I actually found this coin while helping my dad to clean out an abandoned house. It was sitting by itself on a shelf in an otherwise empty closet. Actually I found a few cool things in the house (A WWII German bayonet) but that doesn't really fit in the SSG community. I've always really liked the design of this coin and used to carry it around as my card protector when I played poker. Based on what I could look up it seems to have the following stats-

Fineness: 0.8000
Weight: 23.3276g
ASW: 0.6oz

So this was my first foray into sharing some of my silver coins, I have always wanted to buy more but just haven't pulled the trigger yet. Maybe after sharing a bit more I'll finally take the plunge and look into buying something new for the collection. Until next time, hope you enjoyed.

Sort:  

Nice find, fingolfin. Thanks for sharing your cool find. It is real money.

Thanks, I did see in one of your last posts you were talking about thumbing through some baseball cards and finding some stuff. There is actually a sports trading card community that you can check out if you feel like sharing any.

Hey, thanks for the tip on the sports trading card community. I was not aware of it.

That is cool that you just found it on a shelf all by itself. It was waiting for you and I suspect it wants to have some new 'friends' to be stacked along with it! Keep on stackin' and congrats on your first post here in SGH! Take care and have a lovely week ahead!😎👍

Finding silver is always so nice, I can't remember the last time I found silver in change....just Awesome my friend!!!!!
Keep on stacking!!😀

Silver has had a crazy week. Cool coin!

Yeah, I remember a few years back when silver was pumping that I was considering buying some junk silver (like rolls of silver quarters) but never did get into it. Now that it is peaking again it doesnt seem like the ideal time to buy lol

Hello, @fingolfin! Nice to meet another person who is interested in silver coins. That is a great find from your father's stuff. Was he into silver coins? Wouldn't it be wonderful to continue his interest?!

I think that many current stackers were not interested in precious metals at the onset, as I was in the beginning. In fact, I was totally clueless about precious metals until I stumbled upon the stacking community on YouTube!

I can tell you that t has been a wonderful endeavor and only been so rewarding for me. Hopefully, it will be for you too.

I can only encourage you to keep learning about coins and precious metals, and perhaps you will then decide that collecting and stacking precious is likewise something that you want to do!

Have a wonderful day, and take care 🥰🌺🤙. This is a great first post on precious metals, my friend. Keep up the good work!
!tip

I've always been into coins, just never for the purpose of specifically acquiring the precious metals. I think its what led me to getting a metal detector as a kid, though I only found some pocket change here and there.

Clad coins have their value too... but I think that silver coins and gold coins is where real value lies. The good thing is that many government mints produce bullion coins so that ordinary individuals like myself may have the opportunity to acquire silver and gold.
Good luck to you, and take care @fingolfin🥰🌺🤙

Congratulations @fingolfin! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the last Hive Power Up Day

🎁 Hi @fingolfin! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @silversaver888!

@silversaver888 wrote lately about: #Piratesunday: 2020 Silver Kraken Round Feel free to follow @silversaver888 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.