Oktoberfest Southern Style

image.png

Other than our recent invasion from the Southern Border. more Germans immigrated to the United States than from any other country. One has to ask what was so horrible in Germany to drive so many people from hearth and home to cross the ocean to America?

Facts are facts, the largest ethnic group in America is German. Probably why we enjoy our BEER so much and guard it with such a passion!

On this #beersaturday the Mrs. @handofzara and I enjoyed a wonderful family gathering with my daughter, her husband and our in-laws. Good news is the Mrs. @handofzara and my son-in-laws mother are old friends, even before our children were married.

True to the rules of ordering beer, I started off with a Helles!
image.png

I bought the mug which comes with $5 refills!!!!!!! Not bad for a craft brew in these parts, not bad at all. But it gets even better as the band played Roll Out the Barrel!

Being a complete nerd I sang the words, while everyone else just stared in a complete blank. as if they did not know the words but I know that they do! They are just lucky I did not dance a polka or the chicken dance to completely embarrass everyone.

No one has any fun anymore, consumed with the fear of what others might think!

Next up is the Marzen Beer, and it is never too early to enjoy the toasted malts of a well brewed marzen beer.

image.png

Absolutely fantastic, while a sang along with band while they played "Edelweiss" much to the dismay of the Mrs. @handofzara. Why I do not know as I am a great singer after two or three beers.

She gave me that look ot you have had too many and need to eat a little something to calm down.

image.png

Well alright I will have a brat with some coleslaw on the side, just to fill the belly and rest my vocal chords.

Funny thing, I asked the Mrs. @handofzara if she wanted a brat, and of course she declined. And yet after having just one bite guess where I was five minutes later?

If you guessed, standing in line ordering Mrs. @handofzara her own brat, then you would be correct!

And did she share with me? No way that was all hers! Which reminds me of the old saying in marriage . . .

What's mine is hers and what is hers is HERS!

I finished the night with a FESTBEER.

image.png

Well, not really finished the night because we were all still talking and well the beer magically disappeared from my mug, so I may have stepped out fro a refill of a completely not Oktoberfest Amber Lager.

image.png

And I swear that is my last #beersaturday beer, at the local brewery!

Not necessarily my last beer of the night as I do have to write this post and I am feeling a little parched!

Crap, church comes way too early tomorrow!

See y'all next #beersaturday!

Happy Oktoberfest from North Carolina.

PS I truly hope that I have typed more than two hundred words because if not I will not qualify for the #beersaturday contest. Word, word word word word word word word word word word word word word word word word.

Welcome to the quanto-techno world that counts everything but signifies nothing.

1

Sort:  

Nice! I will attend in a few days the original Oktoberfest in Munich. If you come around, the first Maß is on me.

Haha what a session! That stein looks might large and I see a few different beers so that was a big night. I might have done more than sing!

Great report and story to go along with it. Too much fun.

!BEER

I still got a case of local crafted Hazy Pale Ale in my fridge, now where did I put my Bagpipes?

For us beer drinkers, we always experience beer magically disappearing. Happens to me everytime. Lol. And im pretty sure no ones able to figure it out yet. Hehehe.

October, and Oktoberfest come so quickly!😊
We have a town dedicated to Oktoberfest up here in Washington state called Leavenworth Washington !😊
The celebration goes on for days !🤗
Time to celebrate  my ancestors, crossing the ocean to the United States from Germany!🤗

That looks so good! Looks like it was a lot of fun!

You received an upvote of 65% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Please remember to contribute great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag to create another Precious Gem.


Hey @handofzara, here is a little bit of BEER from @zekepickleman for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that <a href='https://dcity.io/cityyou can use BEER at dCity game to buy cards to rule the world.