What Would You Have Done? - Part 2 ~ The Outcome

in Silver Gold Stackers3 months ago (edited)

A week and a half ago, I shared a moral and financial dilemma I was having. Apmex.com fulfilled my order for a random mint 1/4 ounce gold coin with a coin that had greater numismatic value/Apmex price, but less actual gold, than what I had expected. Comments to the post favored exchanging the coin for what I had ordered, selling the coin and buying what I wanted while pocketing the profit, and just keeping the coin. I chose to exchange the coin, and received a 1984 $10 Gold Maple Leaf in its place. The funny thing about the whole transaction is what has happened to the prices of both coins since I made the exchange.

The 1976 Canada 1/4 oz Gold $100 Olympic BU coin that was selling for $836 (credit card, one coin) is now on sale for $676, while the $575 1/4 oz Gold Coin - Random Mint is now selling for $603. Ordering the specific coin that I received in exchange, 1/4 ounce (random year) Gold Maple Leaf today costs $691. So, all in all, I made out okay.

Here's another situation. My wife likes to shop at estate sales. We went to one the other day and I asked about coins. The saleslady answered that there were some coins but that they hadn't priced them yet. My heart skipped a beat when she pulled out a cigar box to show me the coins. And...

The "coins" were a disappointing mix of "collectible coins" ranging from old nickels and old pennies that, to me, seemed more historical than collectible. The only bullion I saw in the bunch was this Mercury Dime, sold originally by Littleton Coin Co..

The saleslady asked me if I knew what a fair price was, so I looked quick on Coinflation and told her it was worth $1.86 in silver, so she let me have it for that price. Today it is worth $1.79 melt. But, Littleton is selling it for $17.75. Wow! That's part of the adventure of stacking.

Sort:  

I have Thousands and Thousands of Mercury Dimes...
Mercury Dimes, close up....jpg
On the other side of the Reset, I figure each Mercury Dime will have the Spending Power of 100 of today's Fiat USD's...

Wow! That's impressive. I have quite a few dimes, but many are (</=1964) Roosevelt Dimes. I think Mercury Dimes are better since they can't be confused with currently circulating coinage. They are probably the best option for bartering small purchases in a SHTF situation. Of course, after the Reset you are predicting they will both bew exchangeable for the same $100. Thanks for commenting and for the follow. !BBH

The thing is... The U.S. Treasury will be offering me a One Ounce $10 Silver Coin for just 10 Mercury Dimes... Not 14 Mercury Dimes, but 10 Mercury Dimes... It will be one of the Special Deals for our 90% Silver and Gold Coins, where we actually get back "more" Silver or Gold, than we turn in, with Higher Face Values... There is a Good Reason behind the Special Deals that will be offered... But that's just the Start... There will also be a Phase 2 and a Phase 3, that I decided to no longer write about... People have a hard enough time believing in Phase 1 of the U.S. Monetary Correction...

You came out a winner, @kunschj ! Very good!!!
Hahaha... stacking is indeed an adventure!
!BBH

@kunschj! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @silversaver888. (5/20)

It's definitely a wild ride!

As long as you are satisfied with the coin you got, is what counts.👍

I am quite satisfied with the coin I received. The Olympic coin was nice but, in the end, I am happier with the .999.

Beautiful quarter oz and I just love the Mercs !BBH

@kunschj! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bitcoinman. (10/50)

Agree 100%!

Seems to be your lucky day there! Nice that it turned out in your favour!

!PIZZA to celebrate :)

Yeah. I am happy with how things turned out. Thanks for the pizza :)

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@thisismylife(4/5) tipped @kunschj

Nice pick up! Well done! I love Mercury dimes!

You got some nice gold though, enjoy!

!BBH

Thank you! You can't go wrong with Mercury dimes...or gold :)

Never a bad move on either one. Some very nice stuff you picked up!