Casting a silver brick

20201001_114026.jpg

So casting a silver brick sounds straight forward well let me tell you it ain't but I will go further into depth later on why it ain't.

Making a mould

This is probably the most important part all the whole process as mistakes made here add time on later.

20201001_102930.jpg

To make this mould I first coated the Lego brick in talc and brushed it into every book and placed into one empty side of the mould and packed Petra bond and hammered it down so it was a nice and tight fit.

I covered the inside of the mould in talc and added the other side of the flask and packed that with Petra bond.

The problem with this type of casting is that sometimes the casting media will break off ruining a mould and leaving lots of flashing that needs filing later on.

Pouring the silver

20201001_100405.jpg

The silver is heated to 1100°c in my furnace.

20201001_121726.jpg

The silver is poured quickly but in a smooth motion until silver reaches the pouring spout.

Fresh out of the mould

20201001_103337.jpg

So this was the first look I had at the brick and it was ok but it did have a little flashing which I needed to file off but first I need to cut off the spruce.

20201001_103503.jpg

I have a jewellers saw but I always to use a junior hacksaw for spruce.

Cleaning the brick

20201001_103555.jpg

This is what I was on about earlier with regards to having moulds tight and now I have to use a file to remove the excess silver flashing and this is time consuming.

20201001_104831.jpg

Polishing the brick

20201001_105145.jpg

I used a very fine sanding disc on a mini bench grinder and missed the buffing wheel as I am going to tumble it later.

Stamping my brick

20201001_111255.jpg

So here is the fun bit of adding some lettering to the brick, I used a variety of metal stamps.

Tumbling

20201001_111659.jpg

So I used stainless steel media in my tumbler to give the brick a nice shine.

Finished brick

20201001_123724.jpg

20201001_123730.jpg

20201001_123739.jpg

20201001_123749.jpg

Final thoughts

So here is my final take on the brick, the casting sandbox not ideal but for a bit of fun it can't be beaten and you can't actually use the brick with other Lego as when casting the metal shrinks slightly and makes it incomparable.

Sort:  

Yes, I like the idea stacking Silver like that. Thanks for sharing, monsterjamgold.

Thats awesome! Love the stacker lego. I need to buy a split mould to up my pouring game!

More the question is why ain't you got one.

Just remember silver shrinks in the mould and it will only stack with other stacker bricks.

Nice work dude! That brick is super sweet. I have stepped on way to many Legos to ever want one cast in silver though 😂

If they can't snap together then they could stack on each other can they?

Very interesting! I loved this article!

I love the lego result. Took a great deal of work this, well done.

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @stevenson7 & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.io/diyhub!

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!


Congratulations @monsterjamgold!
You raised your level and are now a Dolphin!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

October 2020 is the World Mental Heath Month

@monsterjamgold, thank you for supporting the HiveBuzz project by voting for our witness.

Here Is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hivebuzz support the Papillon Foundation Charity project
October 2020 is the World Mental Heath Month