You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 2024 Greatest Generation Commemorative Coin Silver Dollar Proof

Oh, @dfinney ! You articulated a little of what has been in my heart for the longest. My grandfathers were both military officers; for this reason, both my parents are in the military, and my older brothers were also in the military. They are all in heaven now, and I was 23 when a lost my Dad. I matured with the help of my sorority sisters. It is crazy, the sadness of it all, and I live out my years in such a normal and unassuming way. The untold stories of both my grandparents, and my parents, and brothers... all kept inside me. In my quiet self, there is patriotism like no other.

Sort:  

Ugh… my heart breaks for you thinking about all the family you have lost. So many memories and good times that should have been made and shared to today.

My family was all in the military too. Mostly Navy. (Though my mom’s dad, grandpa Sharp, was in the Army). My Grandpa Finney, His brother, his brother in laws, his dad, his grandfathers, even his sisters were Waves during WW2. My uncles were also in the Navy. My dad was meant to be drafted into Vietnam but being a military “brat” they had all of his medical records. So the military rejected dad from serving due to a collapsed lung he had as a child.

I am glad you are so close to your sorority sisters. Being without your parents and brothers must feel really lonely sometimes. It is good to have found a family through your friendships. 🩷

😍😘💔