Some Cutthroat Trout Silver!

Fishing has always bee one of my favorite hobbies. As a kid there were several streams and ponds with fish nearby where I lived. During summer my friends and I would spend time fishing in them and having a lot of fun. The carefree good old days! The hobby stuck with me because as an adult I got into deep sea fishing because the fish were bigger and more of a challenge.

One particular fish I remember catching on trips to the Snake River when I was a kid were the cutthroat trout. They are beautiful fish that live in the northwestern United States up into Canada and southern Alaska. Not too long ago I came across this silver commemorative round featuring the cutthroat trout so I had to buy it. I also got a similar one with the bluegill which I shared a couple weeks ago. These are interesting because they were produced in pure silver by North American Fishing Club back in the 1990's, the club is no longer around but the silver still is!

About the round:

Diameter 39 mm

Weight: One Troy ounce

Metal: 99.9% silver

Mint: Unknown

Strike: Proof Like

I have no idea what mint produced these, but they did a great job. They have great detailing and are beautiful designs, it's just a shame they didn't include a mint mark. I was able to get them both for spot which is always a great deal in my book. If you do run into these be careful because they also produced a silver plated version, but the 0.999 silver ones are marked as such. I'm not sure I would pay much more than spot on these because they are kind of obscure and I'm not sure how much collector demand they will ever achieve. I could be wrong and I hope I am because they are nice silver specimens.

It's a shame the North American Fishing Club no longer exists, it would be nice to see more silver like these produced. The club was bought out by a media company called Scout Media, who in turn were bought out by some Russian investors. But in the end they were forced to declare bankruptcy permanently dissolving the club.

Cutthroat Trout
troutunderground.com

hatchmag.com

I found some nice images of some cutthroat trout in their natural habitat. They prefer shallow, clear streams or rivers, and some do live in clearer lake as well. There a fourteen different species of these fish that were cut off geographically millions of years ago, but they are tend to have the spots you can see above and the redness around the gills, thus cutthroat in the name. They are a fun fish to catch, but I have usually just released them back into the stream because trout isn't my favorite fish for eating.

These are often the favorites to catch for fly fisherman. I've never been much good at that, I think I would be more likely to hook myself than a fish if I were to try it again! Cutthroats typically eat small insects are larva, but can eat much smaller fish or shrimp if in more coastal waters. They are usually 8 to 22 inches (20-56 cm) in length, the smaller fish tend to be found in river and the larger ones in lakes. They usually weigh from 0.25 to 8 pounds (0.1-3.6 kg) however the world record fish caught was 39 inches long (99 cm) and weighed 41 pounds (19 kg). That would be one huge trout!

Definitely a fish species worthy of the commemorative silver round!

That will just about do it for today's post. I hope you enjoyed the silver and the wildlife as well. It's always fun to share animal coins or rounds because it's kind of a two for one post that way. If you have any questions, suggestions, or comments please feel free to leave them below. Have a great day!

Disclaimer:

I'm not a financial advisor and this isn't financial advice, please always do your own research before spending your hard earned money.

All photos are mine unless otherwise stated.

References:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scout_Media

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cutthroat_trout

If you are interested in precious metals or even want to learn more about them feel free to come join us #silvergoldstackers

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

This fish don't play 🤣 !BBH !LOL

That ends my fish rounds! They were cool while they lasted!
!BBH
!LOL

@bitcoinman! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @thebighigg. (2/50)

Hot singles in your area?
You need someone to fix their air conditioner.

Credit: reddit
@bitcoinman, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of thebighigg

(1/10)
ENTER @WIN.HIVE'S DAILY DRAW AND WIN HIVE!

@thebighigg! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bitcoinman. (12/50)

The defunct Northwest Territorial Mint, just a guess.
I never sports fished but I worked few well paid summers off the Salmon fishing boats in BC.

As good a guess as any, it would fit their style. Working on Salmon boats is a lot of work, but if the pay is right and you're young enough and healthy enough to do it why not?
!BBH
!LUV

kerrislravenhill, thebighigg sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

@kerrislravenhill! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @thebighigg. (1/50)

My grandpa loved fishing, so I would go to the pond with him. He was a lousy fisherman and rarely caught much, so I didn't really learn how to fish well, but I always enjoyed the quiet and solitude of the hobby.

Cool coin!

The quiet and solitude is the best part of it. Sometimes it's nicer to catch a fish because it ruins to quiet!

Thanks!

!PIMP it :)


You must be killin' it out here!
@thisismylife just slapped you with 10.000 PIMP, @thebighigg.
You earned 10.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 3/4 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

Thanks!
!PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@thebighigg just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @thisismylife.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/2 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

I went fishing with my father and brothers Lake Berryessa. I remember waiting and waiting. I came up with nothing, while and Dad and boys got all the fish!
!BBH

@thebighigg! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @silversaver888. (1/20)

There's some skill involved, but also a lot of luck!
!BBH

@silversaver888! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @thebighigg. (2/50)

That fukr is sexy. !PIMP !WINE


You must be killin' it out here!
@enginewitty just slapped you with 5.000 PIMP, @thebighigg.
You earned 5.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 2/4 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

@enginewitty, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (1/3) but the mana is too low. Try again later.

As a consolation, @enginewitty gets !COFFEE from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻

Thanks! Not quite as sexy as your St. Patrick's round though, but what the hell is?
!PIZZA

(Definitely a fish species worthy of the commemorative silver round!)I totally agree with you, Hey, I'm struck by how many designs the coins have, I had never paid attention to all this, the fish design is great.
I wish you a happy day

There are coins for just about everyone. You can find anything from wildlife to Disney characters on them. Your imagination is the limit. Best part about silver and gold is they will always have value!
!BBH

@lupega! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @thebighigg. (3/50)

I grew up spending much of the summer as a kid at my grandparents on a lake here in Wisconsin. I learned to fish at a very young age and have always loved it! I've never caught a cutthroat though! That must have been awesome.

The coins are beauties!

Thanks! Fishing is a lot of fun, I don't think cutthroats made it out that far. Wisconsin sure is a pretty place isn't it?

We have huge fish here, especially in the Great Lakes, but I like fishing in the smaller lakes best!
I've traveled to many places around the world, and I always come home believing that Wisconsin is my favorite place on earth.

It's a pretty place, I worked in Tomah for a month one fall. I really enjoyed it. I've never fished there though, I've seen pictures of some of the monster fish they catch up there!

I wish I had grown up closer to water because I do love fishing. We got to go a bit when I was a kid, so I can't really complain I guess. This is a cool piece.

Thanks! I was lucky that we had a couple choices about a mile away. It's a fun hobby that I don't get out to do as often as I should. Their are piers not to far away you can fish off but they're always crowded, and as I've gotten older I prefer the peace and quiet when I fish. Guess I'm turning into a grumpy old man! lol

I totally hear you there about the crowded piers. On one of our last trips I found this kind of isolated spot in the upper peninsula with a really nice dock. The fishing was meh, but the peace and quiet was amazing! We have plenty of water where I live, just not easily accessible.

Loading...

Very tasty fish 🐟😍

Thanks! Do you like eating fish?
!BBH

@diodao! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @thebighigg. (4/50)

I love this

It looks good!
!BBH
!LUV

diodao, thebighigg sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

@diodao! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @thebighigg. (1/50)

@thebighigg, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (1/3) and will start the voting trail.

In addition, @thebighigg gets !LOOL from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻

Ein Cowboy geht in den Friseursalon
Kommt wieder raus - Pony weg.

Credit: vasupi
@thebighigg, ich habe dir im Namen von @hiq.smartbot einen $LOLZ Token gesendet
Verwende den Befehl !WITZ oder !LOOL, um einen Witz und ein $LOLZ zu teilen.


PLAY & EARN $DOOM


.(5/8)

You received an upvote of 71% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!

Very nice that you found this silver round with the cutthroat trout, especially since the fishing club declared bankruptcy such a shame……..🙄
Fishing is one of the few sports as a kid where you could just sit for hours and do nothing ….. definitely the good old days!😇

It would be nice to have the time to just sit and fish for a few hours in peace these days!

So very true my friend!😊
I have a list of projects I need to get going on today, most are outside……. And it’s pouring rain Lol!😅🙄

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@thebighigg(1/5) tipped @enginewitty

nice coin
!BBH

@thebighigg! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @pirulito.zoado. (9/50)