You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Which is your favourite Christmas place in London - IYC Contest Entry

It's a nice community. I just subscribed and will have a few posts about the places I've lived. London's X-mas decorations are vibrant, and I love all the places you've photographed. Particularly, Carnaby Street has caught my attention with its 600 neon 3D butterflies flying overhead.🤗

Sort:  

What's Christmas like in Da Nang? Hope you will share with us as well!

The Carnaby Street decorations is organized with a charity who focus on helping refugees I think, particularly since it's quite a big problem for UK (along with all the other problems we have 😅 ). We get boat loads from middle east/afica who all want to come to UK instead of staying in Europe and they still come across the rough English Channel in this weather in a little dingy. The butterflies were supposed to represent transformation, new life or something like that....

X-mas is usually not a big celebration in our town, but we have some decorations up. I will definitely go around to take the photos when the weather gets better. I find it difficult to go out when the Rai Typhoon is bringing heavy rains these days.

I really appreciate knowing what the street decoration and butterflies symbolize.

Thank you and I wish you a joyous holiday season. @livinguktaiwan