Getting on the Air

in Ham Radio4 years ago

My brother sent me a Yaesu FT-817 radio he was not using so that I could have access to more Ham frequencies, currently the Yaesu FT-60 handheld only does VHF/UHF. The FT-817 does VHF/UHF and some HF frequencies. Here is a picture of my first testing of the FT-817:
20200707_193825.jpg
Yes, that is a shelf on the BBQ on the deck. I made a 1/4 wave VHF antenna from some parts I had laying around, shown in the following picture:
20200707_193927.jpg
I am now able get on a couple local 2M net's and chat.

The next step will be to create a hole through a wall and allow access to the table in the basement where I will start setting up my Ham Shack.

Randy
VE3YRG

Sort:  

Congratulations @mytechtrail! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 35000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 36000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz Ranking update - New key indicators
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Loving your home made antenna.. and that blue spruce behind sure looks happy. One day I would like some blue spruces.

Best of luck with your ham shack.