You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Language-learning bridging gaps

in Dutchland3 months ago

Growing up in UK, I never learned any foreign language as everyone else in the world spoke English. Compared to many Europeans who I know speak maybe three or even four languages we're definitely at a disadvantage here. That said, I am bilingual as I speak Cantonese at home. I always fancied learning another language but you have to have some use for it otherwise you'll never pick it up properly. Like I know some people learn Korean now because Kpop and K drama are very popular. When I was living in Taiwan some years ago, my mandarin improved drastically and I was confident to converse whereas previously I could only mutter a few words. I find if you live and immerse yourself in a place and culture, it's much easier to learn the language. Perhaps I should move to a foreign country again 😊

Sort:  

Oh, tell me about it @livinguktaiwan! We're at a distinct disadvantage, growing up in English-speaking countries. Kudos to your parents for raising you to be bilingual though! Cantonese is a beautiful (and useful) language to know. And well done for persevering with mandarin whilst living in Taiwan! Can you still communicate in mandarin? Have you ever seen this Ted video? Find it very inspirational when it comes to language-learning in foreign countries.

It's true that the widespread use of English can sometimes hinder our motivation to learn new languages unless it's absolutely necessary. Like you, I've come to admire how most Europeans I know speak several languages - effortlessly, in some cases! Having said that, I'm sure you'll agree that having English as our mother tongue isn't a bad thing... it's a universally spoken language... I guess it's good to recognise our privilege in this regard. Nevertheless, I can't help but feel envious of the opportunities for skill development that come with being multilingual.

Ooh - if you had to choose to move again, where would you go??