You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Language-learning bridging gaps

in Dutchland3 months ago

I did a six week course of get by in French offered by the local twinning association. I was amazed by words that were pulled out of my brain that I had no clue I knew!

I loved the class, it was very small, very social and interactive. I am hoping they will do another course in the spring.

I like a youtuber called languagejones, especially his videos about language learning.

I'm looking forward to trips to France 😍

Sort:  

Brilliant! 💫 Nice, @shanibeer - ah, that sounds like such a great opportunity. What's the local twinning association? Interaction makes all the difference - speaking is the biggest hurdle, I think. (Wish I had someone to practice with! 🤷‍♀️) I hope you still practice, in prep. for summer? Do you have Duolingo?

And that's incredible - words being pulled out of your brain that you had no clue you knew. Funny how language works, huh... I wonder if that's because so much of English is rooted in French? Did you take lessons back in school? Or perhaps you were French in your past life? A whole realm of possibilities, haha!

I'll check out languagejones - thanks for the recommendation. 😉 And have fun in France, whenever you head out that way!