You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This one's for you

in Outdoors and more4 years ago

That's a pretty good lineup and comparison. I own a 303 British (Enfield Mark 4 No 1), 243 Win, 9mm and 22LR of course. I have shot all but the 6mm and the 50 cal.

You're right about how complex this subject is. I can tell your expertise is much better than mine but I occasionally spend some time reading ballistics charts and stuff like that. There is a book that I have and really enjoy called Deer Rifles & Cartridges by Wayne Van Zwoll, PH.D. Have you read that one by chance?

Sort:  

Looks like you have a decent range of calibres to suit most needs. I've been banging on the .243 a lot lately. Nice calibre. I did a load development on it with the Vmax 87gr pill and am pushing 2913fps...It's a laser.

Anyway, I haven't heard of that book no. I'll look it up though. One for you (if you do any long range stuff) is Accuracy and precision for long range shooting (Bryan Litz) - It's pretty comprehensive.

Love the 243. Thanks for the book suggestion. I'll check it out.