You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's get knotted

in Outdoors and more2 years ago

This brought me back to high school. We had to learn some knots for PE class and I remember learning these with a friend to take the test. I think this are some of the easiest but more versatile knots. Others are kinda of tricky to pull off. I remember a lot of people failing because they wanted to get fancy with the knots. It just gets me each time. 😂

I loved to explanation. I think I could go the knots again just by watching these diagrams and reading the explanations. Really cool stuff. I should get to learn more of this outdoors skills. I know some, but knots aren't my forte.

Sort:  

Knots are so useful and once you know a good collection of them, you'd be surprised how often you actually use them in applications. These are two of the easy to remember ones. I wanted to start off with two of the most widely used as they will be the best to remember if you don't know any knots at all.

Lol they wanted to get fancy, well that was their downfall because the fancy knots are the ones you get taught.

Thanks Andres, I hope you practice these and have them under your belt, good skill to have even if you don't use them often.

Thanks you Emma for reminding me of knots. I'll try to practice on some pieces of rope o have throw somewhere between my tools. It might even help me understand how to make a proper knot to secure my rope for adjusting bindings and purflings on instruments. That's usually a problem.

Anyhow, that memory gets me each time. People pretending to get fancy and failing is one of those pleasures of life to watch. 😂