You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Billy the kid

in Outdoors and more2 years ago

I grew up around firearms (mainly shotguns and .22 rifles) but there was a span of about 10 years in my adult life where I never fired a single shot. Recently I got back into it because a friend has a couple pistols and an AR-15 and likes to go shooting at the local range. It's been a good refresher course of sorts. I don't plan to have kids but if I did, I would definitely take them shooting and make sure they understood that firearms in real life are nothing like in the movies. Honestly I think you could make the argument that firearms operation and safety should be required or least strongly recommended as part of the education system. If there was less ignorance about guns perhaps there might also be less gun violence. I don't know, something worth debating I suppose.

!PIZZA

Sort:  

I agree completely in that ignorance of a thing doesn't make it safer or better. Operating a vehicle is a good example which is taught/discussed as part of the education system.

It's good to see you're picking it up again, firearms, and enjoying it.

I'd enjoy it even more if rounds didn't cost so much. Is it just the US or have you experienced increased ammunition costs as well?

Yeah, ,I hear you about the cost.

I make my own mostly although buy some for particular calibres.

I make all my 9mm myself at about 0.24c/round but those rounds Billy the kid was shooting Matt paid for and they were $135/250. So, a lot more than my handloads. They are only usually $95-$110/250 based on the USD. Now? More.

It sucks although I have a lot of ammunition and tend to be able to ride out the highs, even with components like projectiles and powder, then buy up when the price comes down to be able to make and replenish my stocks. I never drop below a set level though, that way lies madness.

I suppose handloading is the way to go if you have the tools. We would sometimes load our own shotgun shells when I was a kid so I know it isn't too complicated. Just requires some precision :)

that way lies madness

lol, gotta keep those zombie apocalypse reserves in order :D

Zombies everywhere mate...They're waiting for the apocalypse to catch up with them. It'll happen.