Climbing Licos Peak of Danao!

Ever since I started hiking on trails and climbing mountains in my province, I always come back home fulfilled and rewarded by its view of the peak. It makes me feel I’m on top of the world (literally and figuratively), which the reason why I became addicted to trekking and climbing. Their views are more beautiful than the other, grand over the other, but as long as it’s a mountain “matic’ I’m in love with it.

1000004190.jpg

Now here comes Licos Peak, a peak I just climbed. Anticipating the breathtaking views on top made this climb exciting just like the other. But little did I except, Licos Peak gave me another reason to fall in love with mountains: its formidable steepness, the challenges along the way, and the physical aspect it requires me to get to the top: my hand grip, the force I applied to my feet and my balance.

IMG20240501102014.jpg

The journey/The trail.

It was already 9 o’clock when we arrived at the jump-off area. From the town center of Danao, we had to ride a “habal-habal”/motorbike to Licos Day Care Center. I checked my time and couldn’t help but worry that Mr. Sun would grill us, but thanks to the lush vegetation of the mountain, we were protected against the sun's blazing heat.

IMG20240501101343.jpg

Going to Licos Peak, requires someone to be very observant of the trail. At the base of the mountain, one should check signs on which way to go. There were bright colors sprayed on random rocks but they are spaced apart so you will be confused about where to head next, especially since there are plenty of trails along the way. Let me add, the path is covered with dried leaves which made it too confusing!

IMG20240501095135.jpg

IMG20240501095057.jpg

The technique is, just to listen to the peak’s calling.

IMG20240501101311.jpg

IMG20240501100429.jpg

And no worries anymore once you find the established path going up.

IMG20240501100518.jpg

The Climb.

Licos has become my top favorite since I stepped on this mountain.

IMG20240501100411.jpg

The terrain is rocky and so steep. It is about 70 to 80 degrees. This is the only mountain I climbed in the province demanding every ounce of my strength, precise placing of my feet, and strong grip on the branches and rocks I passed by.

IMG20240501101306.jpg

IMG20240501100403.jpg

Besides the steep terrain, the ground itself covered with dried leaves imposed a challenge. There were times I crawled because the path was slippery and dry.

We were catching our breath heavily as we were ascending on top! (And yet still smiling)

IMG20240501103020.jpg

About 75% of the journey we reached a boulder of rock where we stopped and rested for a while, a sight for weary legs. Hooh. As I looked down, I released a grin as I already had an idea of what to do as we descended. I’d be sliding! Haha.

IMG20240501101810.jpg

From this point, we continued and was surprised to encounter vines hindering our way. They seemed to be obstacles! But it turned out to be my favorite part as I was able to apply my Tarzan Skill in this part., Haha!

IMG20240501103353.jpg

IMG20240501103052.jpg

After the vines, it’s time to hop on sharp rocks which means we were nearing the peak!

The breathtaking View!!!

After all the sweat and challenges we encountered, we finally reached the peak!

IMG20240501113739.jpg

IMG20240501121231.jpg

IMG20240501113445.jpg

IMG20240501121219.jpg

IMG20240501113645.jpg

The long and hard climb was finally rewarded by this beautiful view. The peak seemed to be a crown seat prepared for climbers who climbed the peak to seek its majestic view.

IMG20240501113733.jpg

IMG20240501121247.jpg

I sat there and I could feel my vertigo attack as I looked down. I knew that with my wrong move, a misstep meant disaster. Yet I savor the moment that I could sit there and have full access to the breathtaking panoramic view of Danao!

IMG20240501120732.jpg

The stretch of greenery, the mountains, and the horizon had left me in awe again! How could Mother Nature be this tranquil and beautiful?

IMG20240501121342.jpg

We lingered on the peak for a few hours and enjoyed our, lunch there! We were having and had a wonderful exchange of conversation about our work and about climbing!

Licos Peak was a complete adventure. And I’d love to come again! Every step was a test of skill, endurance and fulfillment.

IMG20240501101740.jpg

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR READING!


1705734669528.jpg

🖊️@callmesmile

📚She is a public school Teacher on weekdays, a Jill of all trades on weekends, outdoorsy on holidays, a mother, and a blogger in between. 😉

🍃She's in love with nature and the simple life of the countryside. As a lifelong learner, as she is, she is attracted to learning opportunities and growth.

❤️Join her as she shares life's simple joy and its beauty through traveling, exploring nature, the wonders of creating things through some of her DIY, the good things about countryside life, a glimpse of being a Public School Teacher, and more!

If her content makes your heart smile, please leave an upvote, comment, or reblog.🤗

"TOGETHER LET US MAKE LIFE MORE BEAUTIFUL.
SPREAD KINDNESS AND SMILE MORE OFTEN.
🥰"

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png


Sort:  

Aahhhhh!! I love the view😍 nature can be so amazing and breath taking at all times. The hike was indeed worth it.

Licos Climb is one of the fulfilling hikes I've had.😍 - breathtaking view and the physical efforts it demands.😍

Thanks tvlipz, have a beautiful day ahead!😍

Congratulations, your post has been added to the TravelFeed Map! 🎉🥳🌴

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to TravelFeed Map
  • Click the create pin button
  • Drag the marker to where your post should be. Zoom in if needed or use the search bar (top right).
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (any Hive frontend)
  • Or login with Hive Keychain or Hivesigner and click "create post" to post to Hive directly from TravelFeed
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!
PS: You received this comment because you used the Pinmapple code snippet. Pinmapple is closing down and we are continuing Pinmapple's legacy. You can also import your previous Pinmapple posts to the TravelFeed map.
map
Opt Out

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Your hiking journey was really tough. Judging from the pics of the trail, it was indeed a tough one to climb to. Like you, I like hiking, but I haven't experienced hiking in a trail as steep as you have climbed. I'm hoping that one day, I'll get to experience that also...By the way thanks for sharing such wonderful experience!

Oh' from where are Miss ridgette? Maybe we can hike together. 🙂

I'm from southern part of Cebu ma'am, hopefully someday ma'am when I finally have the means to...

Kahit ang init sa pinas, hike parin hehe

MissJane, nag start nami ulan-ulan kron. Thanks God.😍

What a beautiful and rewarding view after reaching the peak! I can't imagine the exhaustion you felt during the climb. Did you really slide down? Or roll? Hahaha Anyways, that was a difficult climb but you all managed to make it! Congrats! Now I want to trek too! hahah


Curious about HivePakistan? Join us on Discord!

Delegate your HP to the Hivepakistan account and earn 90% of curation rewards in liquid hive!

50 HP
100 HP
200 HP
500 HP (Supporter Badge)
1000 HP
Follow our Curation Trail and don't miss voting!

Join Binance through this LINK for 10% off trading fees! Let's save together!

Congratulations @callmesmile! Your post brought a smile to the TravelFeed team so we have sent you a smiley. Keep up the good job. 🙂

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@for91days (TravelFeed team)

PS: Did you know that we launched the truvvl app? With truvvl, you can create travel stories on the go from your phone and swipe through nearby stories from other TravelFeed users. It is available on the Apple App Store and Google Play.

Congratulations @callmesmile! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 52000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 53000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the May PUM Winners
Feedback from the June Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - May 2024 Winners List