Camping Isle de Grobois in Boucherville Quebec -When city dwellers break loose!

22.jpg

My partner and I live in the middle of downtown Montreal. We have not left this Island for over two years since we returned from a long stay in Asia. We have not even left the centre of town except on a few occasions to the other side of town, to visit Marc's parents.

One of the things we used to love was camping, which was always with a car. We ditched our car quite a few years ago and our licence expired. We have decided to not drive any more.

On our past days off work, we did something on a whim that we didn't think could be possible. We found a National park outside of the city on another Island which, like Montreal, is also in the St. Lawrence river. There is a campsite there so we booked for two nights. We read that you could get there by bus/train and walking.

2.jpg

It was confusing on how to get there by public transportation, so we asked for a ride from Marc's father who is 80 years old. It was nerve wracking even with a GPS. We made it in one piece. We planned to take a bus back and not bother him anymore. He didn't mind though.

The campground is 45 minutes walk from the parking lot. This is the farthest you can drive. We were heavily loaded with a tent, supplies that were useful, supplies that were not necessary, and two days worth of food and drink. We had each a backpack and each a wheeled cart. It was heavy for me.

Normally I wouldn't mind the weight but I had an accident at work, in a restaurant kitchen, where I slipped off a crate and smashed into the edge of the big sink with my ribs. I lost my wind for a minute and felt like someone swung a baseball bat to my side. No I just stayed at work. Anyone else would have laid down and asked for an ambulance. I am not that person. It doesn't mean that the pain of busted ribs was fun.

Fortunately when we got to the main building we found out that you could get a pull wagon which tightly fit most of our stuff. Marc wheeled it for 45 minutes on the path. My load was lightened.

The road seemed endless as the sun was blazing down but I was easily distracted by the on going nature which I haven't experienced in a while. So much greenery,

1.jpg

As we approached the campground, we noticed some ready tents. We figured this is how the rich campers live. We slightly envied them.

8.jpg

These tents are large enough for 4 adults and 2 children. They come with mats and cooking supplies along with a table and chairs inside as well as outside. They also have solar power.

17.jpg

I could live the rest of my life in one of these. In fact I would prefer this over an apartment in the city.

16.jpg

We finally got to our site which was quite nice with a patch of grass and a fire pit. We set up our tent for the first time. We only bought this tent in case of emergency if SHTF, along with some other prepper supplies.

I was surprised at how small it was. Marc said, "it's a two person tent! What do you expect?" I realized that it's about the compact portability of it.

10.jpg

The two of us have always been obsessed with campfires. It must be from living hard core in the city all of our lives. Now we don't even have a balcony for a barbecue. This was our opportunity to blaze up an inferno like nobody's business.

3.jpg

We got to the wood place/little store with not much in it, and asked for some wood. It was 7 dollars a bundle. We decided to get 5 bundles. The young girl seemed surprised. We thought perhaps this is unusual and we felt a little weird. For the first time we had to get it ourselves with some bundle things that had straps. In the past it was always delivered to us by a golf cart.

5.jpg

We like to start our campfire early, unlike most people who wait until dark.

ezgif.com-gif-maker (4).gif

Along the path in on the grounds there are a few water taps. We were happy about that. We thought we would have to go to the main washroom building to get our water.

4.jpg

We were able to fill up our super water filter that filters out almost everything.

6.jpg

Food

To make dinner, I used a portable butane stove. I had to do everything in bits since I couldn't bring my kitchen.

9.jpg

Many may wonder what someone would eat on a camping trip if they eat only plant based. Let me tell you, it was much more convenient without animal products to keep cold. We don't have a cooler.

13.jpg
For breakfast we had soba noodles, and veggies. I brought small herb and spice packs along with small jars of soy sauce, lemons,oil, vinegar, etc. which in the end added up in volume but was worth it.

12.jpg

This was super simple and turned out to be quite tasty. Preparing food outdoors is super relaxing. For some around the world, it may be where their kitchen happens to be. Lucky them.

14.jpg

I wanted to experiment with making pizza on a fire pit. I brought some flour, yeast and after making the dough I let it rise in a tupperware bowl. It was hot outside so the dough rose perfectly. I let it sit for most of the day.

20.jpg

I didn't have a pizza pan so I shaped two small ones on aluminum foil on top of a plate. I removed them from the plate in the foil to the grill.

34.jpg

Because it wasn't an oven with all around heat, It would have been best if I had cooked the toppings first but I didn't think about it. The only solution was to flip them over on the grill. The dough was cooked nicely this way but the toppings weren't like they had been cooked in a oven pizza.

37.jpg

It was still a treat to have pizza at a campfire regardless of the not super baked toppings. The sauce was made from tomato paste from a tube, fresh tomatoes, and seasonings. I cooked that sauce first.

38.jpg

The biggest treat was lion's mane mushroom skewers on the fire. I can't be more grateful for having access to buying these tightly packaged bags from my work. I get it at the company cost. It's still quite costly but I will treat myself to this every so often.

31.jpg

These are actually better than fresh ones because of the moisture being squeezed out. The texture is so much like chicken or turkey that it's scary. The good thing about these is that it absorbs flavors easily, unlike tofu which requires more marinating or additions.

32.jpg

Because they were so tightly vac packed, they didn't need to be refrigerated. I simply tossed them in salt and seasonings with a little tomato paste and fresh squeezed lemon.

35.jpg

I left them for a while covered before I put them on the grill.

39.jpg

This is a plant based dream, if you're someone who misses the texture and food memories of what we used to eat.

40.jpg

Nature Wildlife and Theives

When we walked away the first day for a couple of minutes, we came back to a fellow camper telling us that raccoons had been snooping around our stuff. Earlier I had noticed some large metal bins on every site. I now realized this is a storage for food and items that might interest the critters.

ezgif.com-gif-maker (6).gif

There was a scene in the early evening when I found myself battling a raccoon as he so boldly came to grab one of our bags right next to us, full of food and other items. I couldn't believe he wasn't scared of me as I pushed the wagon toward him. He wasn't leaving. I finally found a way to make some noise that made him give up.

15.jpg

We had heard that there were deer on this island which thrilled me. One day Marc came back telling me he had seen one. I was jealous. I thought I may never see one on these two days.

As we walked the next day, I asked where he had seen the deer and as he pointed to the spot, I saw one looking at me.

Shortly after that, she was accompanied by her family including a small fawn.

19.jpg

As we walked, we saw another hanging out by a campsite. This is a very big bonus for someone like me. I usually only see squirrels as wildlife.

18.jpg

We were very surprised not to get any mosquito bites, in fact we don't know how it was possible. We were by the river and several arteries of water but we didn't get bitten. I'm quite thankful about that.

Marc found a strange insect that you wouldn't see in the city. We wouldn't notice it anyway if it were there.

ezgif.com-gif-maker (9).gif

Being away in nature let's you see another world that some people may take for granted. We mostly see construction, sidewalks, buildings and traffic in our daily life.

The whole place was covered with raspberry bushes, which would have been great if it were still raspberry season. We found two remaining tiny berries that were left behind.

ezgif.com-gif-maker (7).gif

Relaxing

Marc and I are cooks in a restaurant. We are the only two in the kitchen. We cook and do dishes. If it gets busier they have more front staff. Marc and I just have to work harder and faster. We used to have a dish washer but he got in our way, slowed us down and talked too much. We had to let him go. We prefer to be alone in the kitchen but I cannot deny that it's exhausting. We only open four days a week thank goodness. Usually on the days off we do laundry, cleaning, and chores. I try to get some posts done but recently with the injury and the trip, I have been lazy.

27.jpg

These two days were super relaxing in a way that can't be described but at the same time exhausting.

21.jpg

Down by the river at the wood place, there were canoes, and kayaks that we could rent. We had thought about doing that but we were too tired to row. It seemed like work so we decided not to this time. It's something we will do in the future.

24.jpg

Across the river is where we were going to get a shuttle to the Island if we had taken the bus. We found out that it only runs on the weekends. We were leaving on Tuesday. We were certain that there would be a bus from the Island. It would just take longer.

29.jpg

We decided not to think about how to get home, and enjoy the blue skies which I haven't noticed in a while. I usually never look up on my way to work which is across the street from my apartment.

23.jpg

We had hoped to jump in the water before we got there, but when we saw the water we realized it was not inviting. We had seen some rich kids jumping off a super yacht but they were obviously drunk and in uber party mode.

25.jpg

Marc relaxed by looking for stones to sharpen a fishing knife that I got from my uncle after he passed away. He was making kindling from the firewood. He thinks it worked a bit.

30.jpg

We found it difficult to stop the campfire and finally go into the tent. It was too nice and it was over the last night. I didn't bring any mats for the tent so in the middle of the night the pain of my busted ribs made me wonder if I would live through the night. I managed to calm down and get some sleep. I found that having a little sleep in a tent is still more refreshing then having a little sleep in the apartment.

41.jpg

We had to leave the next day. We gathered our things put them in the wagon and walked 45 minutes to return the wagon and get the bus. When we got there we found out that buses no longer ran to the park. We walked to the front gate which was another long endless road in the blazing heat. This time with all of our stuff on the back and wheel carts. The load was only a little lighter without the food.

When we got to the gate we found out there were no buses on to the Island and no way to walk off the Island. We were forced to call a taxi. They were not available for 3 hours.

We had to call Marc's father for a ride again. It worried us for him to be driving out there, but he made it. We had to pay the price for relaxation with lots of walking with things on our backs.

Would we do it again? Yes!

ezgif.com-gif-maker (1).gif

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Sort:  

I'm so sorry to hear about your fall Carolyn, but really glad that you enjoyed time out camping in the open! You were really lucky to see wildlife like that.
You are one amazing and determined lady, I would have been moping & feeling sorry for myself with that kind of injury.
You need to do this more often before winter comes!
Enjoy the rest of the weekend and take care of yourself 🤗

Thank you Lizelle. I don't think you of all people would be moping at all. You are more of a trooper then anyone.

Thanks and have a great week!

So nice to see you two in natural surroundings and joying a hour time. Wish you could have stayed for three nights at least! But the transportation is really a problem without regular buses.
Nice tent and camping stuff! The pizza looked very yummy.

The elderly driver was quite amazing!

Yes 3 nights or more would be great but Marc and I can't take days off or the restaurant has to close. Help wanted signs in every restaurant in town.

We are going again this Sunday but we are renting the fancy tents for less baggage. We also will take a ferry there and arrange ahead of time for a taxi to get us off the island.

Have a great day😊

Hi there, @outdoorlife has curated your post on behalf of the outdoors and more community. Using #outdoorlife as the first tag on posts of this type helps us find you, as will posting in the community.

#outdoorlife footer.png

All images belong to @galenkp

What a fabulous place you found for camping! It looks ideal, except for the transportation there-and-back, but so much greenery, so much wildlife, such a restful environment! I am glad you & your sweetie were able to break away for a couple days and relax! 😊 I had no clue that you & Marc were only two in the kitchen at work! I thought you were two of several! 😮 That is all the more reason you needed this time away, to decompress! I hope your ribs will heal soon! 💜

Marc and I used to work with others in other kitchens but in this one we are alone. It's rough in this business but it keeps me stronger.

I appreciate your kind support and wishes.😌

I’m glad to hear you got a good relaxing with the nice place. Have a wonderful time my friend.

Thank you so much. Wishing you the best my friend.

Very good detailed post. i enjoyed reading it.

Have you considered selling up and moving to the countryside?

Sat Nam
Atma

Some free Hive-engine tokens for you: !PGM !PIZZA !LUV

Want to mine some more crypto? If so, Join #Fractally, start earning $RESPECT
https://genesis.gofractally.com/share/P3y08N-PpNgcxJQh and help to #savetheworld from the #massmurdermachine of corrupt centralised organisations effectively controlled by #thepowersthatshouldntbe!

We would love to live in the country but for now we have nothing to sell and live paycheck to pay check haha. We are collecting prepper supplies in the meantime for when we have to run from our overlords.

Thank you for your nice comment!

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 15 SBT tokens to @atma.love, @carolynstahl

remaining commands 14

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-2.5 BUDS-0.01 MOTA-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@atma.love(1/15) tipped @carolynstahl (x1)

Join us in Discord!