You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Smith & Wesson

in Outdoors and more4 years ago (edited)

Will have to get used to some of the lingo. What’s EDC? I’m guessing that’s some kind of carry?

I do like the heft to the gun. It gives you some solid weight so you’re not blowing your arm back with recoil when firing. I’m sure if I’m able to get to a range consistently it will be a pretty fun piece to use.

Funny thing is I don’t know much about them despite having my license for years. I didn’t really grow up with them the way some do. My dad had a .22 rifle but it was stored out of state since he didn’t have his license. The both of us didn’t get our licenses until I was in my 20’s so I don’t have a lot of knowledge in some regards. For example I didn’t know that was an after market grip lol it looks like it but it also fits really well with the gun so I didn’t think anything of it.

Thanks for checking it out and the great comment!

Sort:  

Ah, EDC = Every Day Carry. They do have a nice feel to them. I traded mine in on a nice .45. Definitely a little more accurate, but was more $$ as well. .22's are great for cheap practice, learning muscle memory in addition to plinking or hunting small game and pests. Even though I have several bigger, I still enjoy shooting them. I pretty much got rid of my smaller than .45 center fire pistols when I moved to Colorado, just didn't feel comfortable with 9mm when there are bears and mountain lions about. I did cave last year and bought the Sig P365 9mm and that definitely has become my go to carry gun when in the city. I still pack larger when going into the woods, but that's a fine city gun like the Smith.

Yeah that's what I've heard is a solid philosphy. Do what you need to do to learn with a .22 since the bullets are dirt cheap. Carry something like a 9 or .45. For me, hearing the 9 or .223 or .445 (is that the higher caliber for AR-15's? My dads got one and one bullet was a lot more powerful than the other) is cooler than shooting the .22 but I haven't done them as much so it's still an experience for me.

An old coworker of mine had a collectors license from the ATF or something (not too familiar with the different types of state vs. federal licenses, she could've been BS'ing me) so she had the ability to get more weapons than most. One of her most requested to see or shoot was a Desert Eagle but she said it was a pain in the ass because the bullets were so expensive.