Sort:  

Firenze = Florence, my daughter spent a semester there in '13 and that was my souvenir! So yes, Italy. That is as AR15, my first and it was the second iteration. MagPul PRSS (stock), cheapo used Simmons scope on top, R-Guns upper receiver, Delaware Machinery lower, and quad rail. Mil-Spec LPK (trigger and lower assembly innards) and the rest is mil-spec. Assembled by a former Army Ranger, my USMC son was quite impressed, especially considering the price! It was a very late 2012 rifle, in fact I got it out right after Sandy Hook...

Very nice, I spent a summer in Siena back in 2014, if you ask her about it, she’s hopefully been there. Very beautiful Italian city! We went to Florence for a day, it was pretty nice. Ponte Vecchio, the old bridge, was the coolest place for me I think in Florence.

Not familiar with those particular gun components yet but I do know that my dads friend built a custom AR and absolutely loved it. I’ll have to ask my dad if he’s got any stuff on it, I think he’s got some customization to it.

I should do a "BUILD PARTY" series, it would be COOL!

Most of the parts are pretty standard, Mil-Spec is as common as dirt, obvs. The main difference on my pictured AR is that the stock is not standard. That configuration was temporary, the R-Guns upper was traded, I wanted a Smith & Wesson slick side upper for a lightweight build. So I traded with a friend who wanted the fully dressed one with the dust cover and forward assist. Both military issue parts, added for Viet-Nam conditions. It is extremely hard to beat the function and reliability of mil-spec parts, what the 'builder' is usually trying to do is customize to the shooter's expectations.
MagPul PRSS stands for Precision Rifle Sniper Stock. You can find similar stock setups on precision long range rifles like a Remington 700 and such. Adjustable cheek pad, adjustable length of pull, (LOP) and the aforementioned unipod. That was an extra cost item. I'm glad I got some of the parts used, it's crazy to have the cost of an econo AR-15 in your stock arrangement alone!!! I did much better LOL 😂

I build AR's now, I bought the tools that 99% of the "assemblers" will never buy... I can install, take off or change barrels. And I don't have the crappy "upper receiver" shells, I bought the actual tool that keys into the chamber so you can't accidentally break the upper receiver with those clam-shell deals.